New To Gaming (Total War & FM)

Associate
Hi,

I'm new to gaming pcs and need some advice on suitable set-ups. I enjoy playing Total War games as well as Football Manager but haven't had graphics powerful enough to play these properly on my laptop before. I would say being able to play these games is the minimum necessary for me but I would like the possibility of upgrading the pc. I have never played some more advanced pc games so in the event that they interest me I would like to be able to modify the pc for their requirements.

Any advice someone may have would be greatly appreciated!

Associate
OP
Firstly, sorry for the late response, I've just been at work.

I don't wish to spend over £1000 probably, but my budget under that is flexible. If you told me an £800 build would last twice as long as a £500 one etc then I'd be willing to spend more.

I have a gaming monitor (probably not the best but it is meant for gaming). Regards keyboards and the mouse I don't have gaming versions, just ordinary ones.

Thanks

Soldato
What resolution is your monitor?

How does this look;
My basket at Overclockers UK:
Total: £952.08 (includes shipping: £13.20)

Black friday is coming up and you may be able to shave off some of the cost with some good deals on a graphics card, ram and ssd but maybe £30/40 all in.

It would cost you more but you could upgrade to the Ryzen 5600x which has just come out but its about £80 more.

An alternative build would be Intel;
Total: £863.04 (includes shipping: £13.20)​

I would recommend AMD as a better platform but Intel does save you some money and its still going to handle FM etc completely fine.

Last edited:
Associate
Is there really any reason to go for a 3600xt over a plain 3600 or a 3600x? The £50 or so would pretty much get you to 2060 price which means you can use DLSS. The cooler doesn't seem worthwhile either since they're unlikely to be overclocking.

Soldato