Zoom out lens (newbie question)

Soldato
I’m very new to photography, I’ve got a Canon DSLR 1200D, which I got because it’s got the phone app which means I can use it as a remote and viewer.

I’m mostly taking photos inside, in smaller rooms like hotel rooms and bed rooms (onlyfans content etc)

I was recommended the nifty 50 lens over the standard one that comes with it, and it does make much better quality photos, but you can’t zoom out enough. Is there a cheap lens that looks as good as it but allows me to be closer to a subjects whilst still getting them fully in frame from head to toe?

Soldato
The lower the focal length number, the wider the field of view will be. The lower the aperture number the shallower you can make the depth of field (and the more light it can let in).

Fixed length lenses like that 50mm are good for getting cheapish but good quality lenses, whereas if you want the flexibility of a zoom lens you'll need to spend more for the same quality.

The so called nifty fifty lenses get their name precisely because they're such a good blend of value vs quality and not much else comes close.

You probably want to be looking at some 24 to 35mm primes but I'm not up to date enough these days to suggest specific lenses. (edit - quick Google suggests the Canon 24mm 2.8 is fairly well thought of for a cheapish prime too) If you wanted to go with a zoom I think sigmas 17-50 f2.8 is meant to be a half decent lens for the money.

Associate
It depends what your budget is really. What do you class as cheap?

The 10-22 lens is a great quality (very) wide angle lens for the Canon EF-S mount. Should be able to pick a used one up for a couple of hundred quid if you don’t want to stretch to a new one.

Soldato