Road Cycling

Soldato
@Roady - Yeah I forgot the SPD are the mountain bike ones. She's really not getting along with them though as the cleat is so small. Probably move her to the 3 bolt ones eventually but she she's happy with the shoes.

My Wheels have finally been ordered! Excited to get them at last. I've never built a set of wheels up before. Am I right in thinking the cassette tool I bought for changing the cassette on my Kickr will do the trick when changing over the cassette and disc rotors to the new wheels? One thing I don't have is a torque wrench(?) to tighten it up to 40nm.
Does she find clipping in hard, or just 'finding' the cleat to clip into it? I don't recall SPD being tricky to clip into, fairly sure you can have them very loose. I always found a flatter pedal better when commuting with them, more surface area. Think the double sided pedals I used where an earlier version of these - https://bike.shimano.com/en-EU/product/component/deore-m6000/PD-M530.html

Cassette lockring tool, *should* be the same (if both same brand). Shimano tend to use the same for their centrelock rotors too. Some (all?) SRAM cassette lockrings are a different size to Shimano, so don't think that would fit if you have a SRAM freehub and a Shimano centrelock rotor for example. Campag is different again... I'd say you don't need a torque wrench for cassettes (I never have), nor have I used one for centrelock lockrings... Just done them up as tight as I can (the rotors, not the cassette). But if you do want to get a torquewrench big enough for 40nM they are generally not cheap. If you're less serious about being pinpoint accurate, then I actually got an 'Amazon basics' 20-100nm one when I needed 60nM on a trainer component and it worked great. Although very cheap in comparison to others so hard to recommend if you need accuracy!