1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

1366 X58 Xeon 5650

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Flashheart, 15 Aug 2014.

  1. Joxeon

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,452

    Location: Uk

    You can usually use the highest all core turbo multiplier of the chip when running an all core OC so for your chip it would be 23, try this and see if it works.

    If that didn't work then you could try overclocking but with turbo enabled but bear in mind it will boost higher so would need more voltage, you would need to set the multiplier to auto for this to work. Eg bclk 191 and multi to auto would give a 4ghz clock but when stressed the turbo would boost this to a 4.4 all core and up to 4.6 on 2 cores.
     
  2. tangey

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2010

    Posts: 188

    I'm so out of date regarding modern CPUs its embarassing. I'm currently running X5675 in an X58 motherboard, clocking @4.37Ghz.

    I'm thinking about updating the motherboard/cpu/fan and memory, keeping the case/ssd/PSU/graphics card. I've read that win10 does a pretty good job of figuring everything out after a motherboard/cpu change. I really can't be arsed doing a fresh install and getting things back to the way I like. To see a significant speed increase (gaming) what should I be looking at ?

    My X58 motherboard has dodgy implementation of USB3, I also assume my recently acquired gigabyte 2060 graphics card will marry better to a new motherboard than to the X58.

    Am I looking at mega-bucks to get a good speed increase over this souped-up 10 year old system, i.e. am I mad ?
     
  3. weldon855

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2013

    Posts: 1,820

    Location: Ild

    USB support and sata support is what pushed me to upgrade in the end. You should be able to upgrade to some kind of ryzen build cheap enough. I have a a i7 7700k for a few years now and I'm still not sure it was an upgrade.
    Games are using more cores these days though so you should be going for 8+ as your Xeon has 6 already.
     
  4. mushtafa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 May 2013

    Posts: 2,482

    Location: West Sussex, UK

    I plan on upgrading to a 3700x next.

    I like the 5660 and can't fault the performance, but I want ITX, USB 3, M.2, etc
     
  5. M1k3H

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 6 Jul 2010

    Posts: 1,849

    That is the only annoying thing, support for usb and disk speeds via usb3.0 and sataIII/m.2. Performance is still very good, although I don't play AAA titles nowadays. Might upgrade to Ryzen in a year or so.
     
  6. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,372

    Location: With the færies wearing black cherries for rings

    A five pound card gives me four USB 3 ports.
     
  7. mushtafa

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 May 2013

    Posts: 2,482

    Location: West Sussex, UK

    I have an expansion card, it doesn't seem to offer high speed though.
     
  8. tangey

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2010

    Posts: 188

    I bought a card that provides 2 USB 10Gb ports, but i suspect it's working way below that level. I assume thats because this 10 year old motherboard doesn't have support for that kind of speed on its bus ?
     
  9. Kelt

    Capodecina

    Joined: 14 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,372

    Location: With the færies wearing black cherries for rings

    Mine gives me around 60-70MB sec transfer rate.

    No idea if that's good or not but it's good enough for me.
     
  10. father-ted

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Aug 2008

    Posts: 788

    Location: York, UK

    I had the same CPU/X58 platform as you and I made the jump to a 3700x and x570 mobo, with m.2 - the difference is significant
     
  11. tangey

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Mar 2010

    Posts: 188

    thanks for the replies, looks like i should be looking at a ryzen 3700 or above upgrade. Good also to get confirmation that its not only me that sees usb3 sub-par performance as being a significant issue.
     
  12. Lord Alibaski

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Oct 2005

    Posts: 1,114

    Location: Doncaster

    I use startech 2 port pcie usb3 card that I got from OC many years ago I still use it and get speeds from 97-118mb and have x58 board and same processor as you fast enough for me.
     
  13. KungFuSpaghetti

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2017

    Posts: 1,713

    Any new ryzen will be a significant jump. I went from x58 to a 2700x and it was a huge leap in gaming, mainly on minimum fps.
     
  14. SinaiSound

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,303

    Location: Sheffield

    In a fairly similar position to comments above

    Don't NEED to upgrade, but tempting nevertheless
     
  15. father-ted

    Hitman

    Joined: 25 Aug 2008

    Posts: 788

    Location: York, UK

    I am glad I did.
    My x58 served me very well for over 11 years, and it was still performing very well when I sold it on.
    Sadly, got peanuts for it as well.....wish I had kept it now as a spare machine :-(
     
  16. wedrum

    Perma Banned

    Joined: 11 Aug 2016

    Posts: 5,536

    Location: Cheshire

    O
    One of my systems is a x5670 with a 980ti.
    @1080p it still smashes through games.
     
  17. Canta

    Associate

    Joined: 25 Jun 2020

    Posts: 4

    Location: Argentina

    Hi there.
    First post in this community. Please let me know if I'm breaking some etiquette rule.

    I got yesterday a X5650 for replacing my old 920. I have a GA-EX58-UD5 motherboard with 24GB (3x8G).
    Thing is, while the system boots and works fine, it only recognizes 16GB. It also shows some trouble at boot time, as it tries several times to boot before success, and restarts itself a few times. This happens before the bootloader takes in, but after the bios/status screen. Seems like it solves some problem by disabling/ignoring a channel.

    Searching around online I ended up here, and started to read the whole thread, where I'm sure I'll find some useful debugging data. But having ~190 pages, it takes quite some time.
    Perhaps anyone know of common problems like mine? Surely it gets down to memory configuration, but don't know where to start.

    Any tip would be appreciated.
    Regards.
     
  18. Vipernet

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,811

    Location: 2 doors down from Subo

    you tried upping the memory voltage? Also, updated to latest bios?
     
  19. Diddyman

    Hitman

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 518

    Location: Essex

    I had a similar issue with mine when i was trying to get it working, but was a different Gigabyte motherboard to yours, the fix for me was to remove the CPU and reseat it.
     
  20. Joxeon

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,452

    Location: Uk

    You may need to increase the QPI voltage with 8gb sticks. Up to 1.35 is ok.

    It maybe worth testing each stick individually just to rule out a bad one.