1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

240GB SSD to MX500 500GB - what cloning software?

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by warren_1979, Nov 24, 2018.

  1. warren_1979

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 5, 2005

    Posts: 2,470

    Hi.

    I never cloned before and I would usually freshly install windows but I can't be bothered this time haha. So what is the best free software to use? I've heard that crucials version isn't too good.
     
  2. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,325

    Location: Wales

    Macrium Reflect for me.
     
  3. Delta3D

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 16, 2014

    Posts: 428

    Location: Durham, UK

    I second this, Macrium has always worked well for me
     
  4. warren_1979

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 5, 2005

    Posts: 2,470

    Great.

    Is it easy to to? Is there anything I should know that won't trip me up?

    There won't any diminishment in performance by cloning?
     
  5. Delta3D

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 16, 2014

    Posts: 428

    Location: Durham, UK

    Wont lose any performance nope, and very easy. Simply install Macrium whilst you have both SSD's plugged into your PC, then select the primary drive to clone from, and then the drive to clone to, tick on "Copy Partitions" and then it's basically next next finish. You'll see the progress bar fill up, will take a little while, but once it's done simply unplug the old SSD and it should auto-boot to the new one :)
     
  6. memyselfandi

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 10, 2005

    Posts: 8,234

    Location: Nottingham

    Did a migration the other day and just used the copy of Acronis you can get through Crucial. Supposed to be used for migrating to their SSDs (which you are) but having one attached in an external enclosure I was able to download and clone from a 128GB Sandisk SATA SSD to a 250GB Samsung NVME drive without issues.
     
  7. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,325

    Location: Wales

    Using Macrium is like falling off a log,really is very easy to use.
    You can always try a dry run with it before you use in in earnest.
     
  8. PapaLazaru

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 23, 2009

    Posts: 17,073

    I did this just the other night. Have always been a bit old school and gone for the clean install but Win10 does not need it. Cloned an old Crucial M4 onto an MX500 using Acronis and it was easy. Just swapped the drives over once cloned and job done.