1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

290x/290 voltage control with MSI AB (stock bios) guide.

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Rangerjr1, Nov 10, 2013.

  1. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showpost.php?p=4697356&postcount=143

    Unwinder says you can put this "/wi6,30,8d,10" into the target of an MSI AB shortcut and get 100mV added onto your core, so i tried it out and it turns out it works. Did some thinking and talking with tsm106 and we realized that you can use this to change voltage at will.

    To set +100mV offset:
    MSIAfterburner.exe /wi6,30,8d,10

    To restore original voltage:
    MSIAfterburner.exe /wi6,30,8d,0

    10 = 100mV and 0 = 0mV (Back to stock). You can also add more voltage. Like i did, instead of 10 put 20 you'll get 200mV.

    Be careful though, AFAIK there's no real limit.

    1. Find your MSI AB directory.
    2. Make a shortcut of the MSI AB.exe onto your desktop.
    3. Right click, properties and paste this at the end of target "/wi6,30,8d,10" Behind MSI AB.exe. This will give you 100mV hence the number 10. (Change the last 2 digits)
    4. Run the shortcut after running the shortcut with edited target and you should have an extra 100mV. (This will not launch MSI AB, you'll have to launch MSI AB from the original .exe or shortcut)

    To go back to stock just put 00 there instead of 10-15-20-25 etc etc. And keep this in mind guys.
    Do NOT come whining at me if you fry your shyt. I have done this personally and ive got no issues YET. And i dont think i will. And increase the last 2 numbers in small increments just to be safe.

    /wi6,30,8d,10 = 100mV
    /wi6,30,8d,20 = 200mV <--- Wouldnt go past this tbh.
    /wi6,30,8d,30 = 300mV
    /wi6,30,8d,40 = 400mV
    /wi6,30,8d,50 = 500mV



    BTW, no need to flash to an ASUS bios :D. Use your stock uber bios.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2014
  2. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Might left out any details or not been clear enough, so just ask me.
     
  3. stn

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 28, 2013

    Posts: 2

    It might be usefull as well:
     
  4. Diagro

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 3, 2012

    Posts: 8,849

    Very nice, saw his post over there aswel.

    Will try this later as my core stars artifacting at 1140
     
  5. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 27,819

    Location: Dormanstown.

    At 55% fan, the R290 cooler can't handle +150mv at 1150MHZ.

    Ran Heaven for a few minutes before benchmarking, throttled at the later stages.
     
  6. Mean Mr Mustard

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 3, 2010

    Posts: 506

    Very good. An extra 100mV allowed me to push the core up to 1205 from 1130 for a run through Firestrike (12716 graphics score at 1205/1500). Any more voltage and the stock cooler really will need to be pushed into 'leaf blower' territory.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013
  7. jinxpad

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 12, 2009

    Posts: 840

    Location: London

    Do you have to keep running the shortcut with the mod every bootup out of curiosity?

    EDIT: So I tried out the mod with a 15 setting (+150mV) and got a very strange result. My FPS in valley and heaven dropped drastically from 60-70+ FPS on the first few scenes to barely over 20FPS with the mod enabled. GPU-Z registered the change in voltage, showing VDDC going from 0.961 to 1.086 with the mod enabled (before running benchmarks). After disabling the mod (setting back to 0) and rebooting my machine, my FPS was back to normal. Any thoughts?
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013
  8. lukext

    Hitman

    Joined: Aug 31, 2006

    Posts: 961

    Location: North West

    The two digits you add are in hexidecimal and each step adds 6.25mv. For 150mv you need 24 decimal which would be 18 in hex not 15. Putting 15 gives about +131mv
     
  9. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Ah okay, excellent! Thanks for pointing that out.
     
  10. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Did you increase power limit?
     
  11. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Guys, when overvolting ill get a black screen at times. Any ideas?
     
  12. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 27,819

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Think there's some glitches with black screens tbh.

    Reminds me of the 5870, that had some glitches too.
     
  13. weldon855

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 21, 2013

    Posts: 627

    Location: Ireland

    yup when overclocking and increasing the voltage alot of people get blackscreen after a few minutes of playing. happens to me when i use gputweak, havnt tried this new msi method. have you the asus bios? it might cause issues on other brands.
     
  14. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Nope, right now im running stock uber bios. MSI AB doesnt change anything, still black screening :(
     
  15. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    If you guys find a fix or something, please post it somewhere.
     
  16. jinxpad

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 12, 2009

    Posts: 840

    Location: London


    Yup power limit in afterburner was +50

    As for the blackscreen issue, have you still got the Asus GPU Tweak installed? If so uninstall it reboot, did the trick for me. Havent had any black screens. Also some people are reporting only getting black screen crash with the latest beta drivers, might want to try rolling back to the beta 8 drivers.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2013
  17. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Ill try Beta 6 drivers.
     
  18. Rangerjr1

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2013

    Posts: 2,591

    Beta 6 drivers arent any better than Beta 9.
     
  19. Zeed

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 15, 2011

    Posts: 5,310

    Location: Nottingham Carlton

    cant be long till new MSI AB i hope .....
     
  20. LtMatt

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 12, 2007

    Posts: 31,773

    Location: United Kingdom

    Good work on the guide Ranger. :)