3 Day Split Routine - Advice

Soldato
Hello all,

I've not long been a member at a gym and I've been basically doing a 'total body workout', where I've been getting my muscles used to exercising and lifting relatively light weights.

After a bit of research and this regime starts to plateau, I've been thinking of doing a 3 day split routine. I'm a complete beginner to lifting weights, so I've been sticking to the machines rather than free weights for now to help with my form, maybe at a later date I will move on to free weights and squatting etc.

From my research I've seen I should split my routine in to pulling / pushing and then leg work. One website suggested the following:

Day 1: Chest-Triceps,
Day 2: Back-Biceps,
Day 3: Legs-Shoulders.

I'd mix this in with a bit of cardio to not only get warmed up but also improve my CV performance and also swimming to relax my muscles.

What do you reckon to the suggested workout? I've got a personal trainer developing a programme for me to follow and I've got an appointment with her on Thursday, so if I suggest things like the above I can then improve the programme to suit myself. It's a one off appointment so I'll be looking to maximise the time out of her.

FYI, over the medium to long term my main goals are to increase upper body strength and definition. Shorter term would be to improve CV.

Another question, slightly off topic but I meant to ask it before. After my first week in the gym, I started to feel aches near the ends of the muscle, particularly in the pecs. Is this them repairing themselves? Like I said earlier in the post, a lot of the muscle groups are not used to strenuous exercise. I don't mind pain as long as it is beneficial.

Caporegime
DOMS is most likely to be the cause of the muscular pain, hving DOMS doesnt mean you have had a good work out, you can have a good workout and not get DOMS :]