1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

3900x wanting to swap my motherboard.

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by easyrider, Oct 7, 2019.

  1. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    I’m not happy with the VRM temps on my MSI X570 Pro Carbon now I have my hands finally on a 3900x.

    So I have decided to return it.

    So looking for a new motherboard. I was looking at the Asus X570 Strix E Gaming but after a bit of research there is no temp monitor for the VRM ?

    Only the Hero and Formula which are priced to high imo and have features I don’t need like 2.5ghz lan and WiFi...

    What about the Gigabyte Aorus X570 Pro? Is this a decent mobo? Any issues with it?

    Cheers
     
  2. Destination

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 31, 2009

    Posts: 19,206

    How hot do your VRMs get out of interest?
    Does that mobo have a fan system for chipset or heatsink?
     
  3. Davefran

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 3, 2011

    Posts: 1,310

    Location: Northwich

    I would think the vrm on the x470 Hero V11 would barely break sweat even running a 3900x oc on all cores tbh.
    look on youtube for a low down on the vrm by buildzoid of gamers nexus ;-)
     
  4. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    Thats x570 money tbh..
     
  5. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    Its creeps up to 90c....

    It has a chipset fan and heatsink...Its a great mobo for 3700x but not paired with a 12/24 thread 3900x
     
  6. Twinz

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 20, 2019

    Posts: 56

    I'm looking at selling my x570 carbon to a friend that's building around a 3700x.
    The board works well with my 3800x and RAM, but I would like to upgrade to the best CPU that will work in an AM4 socket once they are a couple years old and discounted. (4950x maybe?) My VRM's have never broke 50c while gaming and a 20 minute loop of R20 MT barely got to 60C, but I don't want to worry about adding a 16-core chip down the road.

    I am a little concerned about "upgrading" to a better VRM MB (that I won't need for at least a couple years) only to find it can't OC RAM as well as my Carbon.
     
  7. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    I can get 50 quid cashback on the X570 Hero making it £325
     
  8. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 6,109

    Location: Finland

    You can get better VRM X570 boards for less than that MSI.
    For example Asus Prime X570-P/X570-Pro, TUF X570 and Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite all have lot better VRMs:
    https://youtu.be/kxJ8rB5DiUE?t=5m12s

    While having basically the best B450 boards (because Asus and Gigabyte were hurried pushing out scam level VRMs) MSI got lazy/wanted to ride on old reputation with X570 boards.
    While Asus and Gigabyte learned their lesson surprising MSI pants down...
     
  9. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 16,032

    @easyrider
    elite is £196 and can get Pro with wifi for £240 .

    Naturally Pro has higher PCB layer and VRM - designed to handle 16+ cores

    Finned heatsink array is on the main bank of VRMs as well - then you've got the added benefit at hounding Gigabyte rep on here for Bios updates and any issues etc

    techincally Elite handles 12 x Digital 50amp SiC634 = 600amps VCore - more then Pro but PCB is lower and Heatsink cooling

    https://www.vishay.com/docs/76784/sic634.pdf

    Max Op temp 150c

    Pro is 12 x 40amp IR3553 = 480amps but have 6 layer PCB along with heatsinks

    https://www.infineon.com/dgdl/ir3553.pdf?fileId=5546d462533600a4015355cd94ee1767

    Max Op is 150c as well

    I think @GIGA-Man mentioned a while ago that Gigabyte stick sensors as close as they can get them to heat source. Master and Xtreme believe with those expensive VRMs can monitor their temps directly
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2019 at 10:39 AM
  10. tomcoleman

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 11, 2016

    Posts: 225

    i have the ROG Crosshair VIII Formula X570 with watercooled VRM very happy with it.
     
  11. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 16,032

    That's cheating !
    Waiting to see Rog get back in the game using 16phase channel but following current parallel VRM design for something like 32 phases... Lol
     
  12. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    Thanks for the info...looking at the Elite....V Pro....do you think the ultra is worth it?
     
  13. Twinz

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 20, 2019

    Posts: 56

    I've decided to cross the VRM bridge if/when I actually need to. The Carbon is working great with my 8-core and I don't plan on changing the CPU for at least a couple years.

    Right now replacing the Carbon for a beastly VRM MB feels like putting a big-brake kit on a car that never sees the track.
     
  14. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 16,032

    Would go Pro over ultra personally . Does the job the same without the extra flair or being slightly cooler. Again £240 for Pro with WiFi .
    If you are after the coolest option then Ultra , but to see it shine your case has to have good airflow . If using AIO then Ultra helps due to lack of direct airflow over them with increased surface area etc

    8 core, B550 when they rock up will be more then enough, and current ones are if your gaming. Running say Geomapping and it will die within the first 2 days of workload out of 4 etc

    All depends on the end user :)

    I have x470 Gaming 7 Aorus. Might swap for x570 Ultra for slight increase in VRM and the heatsink due to an ATX case being in an ITX case ! Along with push maybe from 8 to 12 cores
     
  15. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    I’m using AIO
     
  16. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 16,032

    Either pro or ultra would be fine :)
     
  17. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,539

    Location: Autonomy

    Cheers..is the pro worth the £50 over the elite for a 3900x running stock...
     
  18. Twinz

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 20, 2019

    Posts: 56

    The Carbon is already more than enough for my 3800X. I stressed it harder than I ever will in real applications and barely reached 60C on the VRM. Tight RAM timings has my timespy CPU score well over 11,100 too.
    Everything is working well now, so I will leave it alone. In 2 or 3 years, I will look at upgrading and then survey my options from what's on the market then.
     
  19. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 16,032

    Birds PCB helps massively with tight timings and speed. Specially with records normally set on 8 layer ITX boards.. just great designs .
    I can sense with TRX40/80 boards.. they are going to cost a bomb and match new x299x boards with 1000amps across vcore !
     
  20. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 16,032

    Not at stock . If your running avx or 24 hr workloads would of said Pro .

    Think the Elite does have less m.2 slots as well as Dan header as a note