1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

830 at 4ghz... to 950 at ????

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by GStueyXR, 12 May 2006.

  1. GStueyXR

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2006

    Posts: 39

    Forum Noob here :) Hello all

    Anyone got the 950? I am keen to know your OC results for an idea of where to start with my OC. Just ordered one.

    My rig is as follows:

    All Water Cooled
    P5WD2-p
    Pd [email protected] (950 ordered)
    2g ddr2 667
    Asus en7800gtx
    Tagan 530w PSU
    500gb raid 0
    Blah, blah

    I am praying for the C1 stepping :rolleyes:
     
    Last edited: 12 May 2006
  2. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

    950 sucks for OC'ing, great for everything except overclocking.

    I can't get my cpu to overclock above 3.5Ghz without rebooting!

    Although in saying that, the stock speed is awesome, especially when using 64bit.
     
  3. GStueyXR

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2006

    Posts: 39

    Wow, what motherboard / PSU are you running ?

    EDIT: Just read your sig.... No need to answer that Q then..

    I can assure you, your board sucks at OCing... Not your processor.
     
    Last edited: 12 May 2006
  4. ihatelag

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2006

    Posts: 1,140

    Gigabyte boards suck in OC'ing...I thought they were very good?
     
  5. monkeypants

    Mobster

    Joined: 12 Jun 2005

    Posts: 2,812

    Location: A lake!

    Gigabyte are possibly THE WORST BOARDS EVER
     
  6. R B Customs

    Mobster

    Joined: 22 Sep 2005

    Posts: 3,265

    Location: Manchester

    its an nvidia chipset too... what were you expecting :S

    why not go for an 805... they clock like crazy !
    cheap as chips too.
     
  7. GStueyXR

    Associate

    Joined: 7 May 2006

    Posts: 39

    Sorry to tell you mate... but no....The nf4 for intel are poo poo, as are gigabyte. Bad combo.

    I bet (seeing as you aint running SLI) that if you throw an asus P5WD2-x in that system you would get 4.5 on air and 4.7, maybe 4.9 on water.

    Really.... it would sooooooooooooooo be worth you spending that 100 notes.
     
  8. Webzta

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 19 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,235

    Hold off for conroe IMO.

    2 month wait.

    If you DO decide you want to upgrade your board and chip - then make sure you buy a motherboard which is going to be conroe compatible, as you ARE going to want to get one :)

    Imo - be patient, and upgrade when the time is right.