Advice for an experienced BA new to the investments and financial sector

Associate
I am hoping guys on this sub reddit can help me out. I have recently started a BA role working with a large global pensions/investments company. I am sub contracted out to the company and have been dropped in at the deep end on a new integration project. We are integration a bank’s investment portal with our own and rebranding their customer portal page etc.

I am having a few problems adjusting to the new role though and was looking for some advice. I am totally new to the financial sector and have zero experience of working in this area. In the past I have worked on SAAS HR solutions and mobile apps where I was able to buddy up and have a mentor to get into the role over a period of a few month. In this new financial role I am finding myself picking up Epics and being expected to know all the jargon and tax rates and industry knowledge etc which I just have no clue about.

I am asking as many questions as I can but the project is so new that everyone is just franticly busy and has no time to sit me down an walk me through wtf is going on. I feel really stuck and not sure how to get up to speed fast so that I know what financial terminology is.

As well as the above I am fining that the way stories are written here are just based solely on acceptance criteria i.e. Given, When, Then and that’s it. I am used to writing user stories in Jira in a different format with a certain amount of acceptance criteria and the tester normally writes the AC's/Tests after having a 3 amigos on a user story.

I guess I am just asking for some advice from other BA's in the financial/investments sector to help me out and give me some direction as to where I can bone up and learn quickly before I am handed epics and expected to start writing user stories.

Cheers

Associate