Advice on £3k+VAT Audio Production/Gaming Rig

Associate
Hi, before you call me a rich mofo I've been saving for 10 years for this, currently running a Core i7 920 @3.2 GHz and the only thing I've upgraded since buying my rig 10 years ago has been the GPU (GTX 670 upgraded from GTX 285).

So I have 3k + VAT (i.e. £3.8k inc VAT) to spend and the goal is to use this rig for sound production and gaming.

Currently this is what I'm thinking:

Any other suggestions? NVMe? Intel Optane memory? Any overkills? Anything that can be improved upon?

Thanks in advance :)

Soldato
Designare is a beast of a board for what it does, finally more oriented towards creation then gaming, others weren't as much but shame it's lost the silver PCB :(
Verys are the same as the Aorus ultra-elite so your covered there and one of the coolest if your pushing the overclock and workload hard

Heads up, Aorus 2080ti is currently cheaper ! Also comes with 4 year UK RMA , which at £1200-500 card is a no brainer.

Not sure if Gigabyte rep @GIGA-Man or @Gibbo can give a date of .When Designare would hit shelves

Would personally change for Focus 750w unit or since your doing music production, Straight Power 11 from Bequiet as it's quiet...

Also check out Bequiet Base 601/801 for a case , the amount of sound insulation as well as having a nice class window sound help

Associate
OP
Thanks very much for your reply :)

Great advice on the Auros, sounds like a nobrainer. Yes, quietness is important although I don't record the work I do in the PC room, I mix them there, and the extra levels of quietness does help!

Caporegime
I would buy a couple of 1tb ssd drives aswell as the 500gb os drive and have a thunderbolt external drive for storage...and backup.

Ditch the WD black.

I take it you already have a backup of your audio files ...?

Soldato