Advice on PC Build for son (1st build)

Associate
I'm helping my son to build a PC for his school work/gaming but am a complete novice at all this and would greatly appreciate some pointers if possible.

I have gathered together a list of parts as follows. I am definitely trying to keep costs down where possible:

Motherboard - ASRock B550 Phantom Gaming 4, AMD B550
CPU - AMD Ryzen 5 3600
GPU - MSI Radeon RX 5600 XT Mech OC 6GB
SSD - 1TB Crucial P1 M.2
SSD - 1TB WD Blue SN550
RAM - Vengenance Pro 16GB (2 X 8GB) Corsair DDR4
RAM - Vengenance Pro 16GB (2x8GB) Corsair DDR4 (3200)
Power supply - 650W Corsair CV Series 80PLUS Bronze
Power supply - 650W Seasonic Core Gold GM-650 80PLUS Gold
Case - NZXT H510 Mid Tower Chassis
Extra fans - 120mm Corsair iCUE SP120 RGB PRO, 9 Blade, 8 LED Addressable, Triple Fan Pack

But I am a little confused about what else I need and have some questions as follows, if anybody would be so kind to offer their expertise:

1. Would the above function as a gaming machine / be able to handle graphically demanding AAA stuff?
2. Will the stock CPU cooler (Wraith Stealth) be sufficient? I don't know what overclocking is, but should my son attempt this at any point, will the system be able to handle it?!
3. What other fans will I need? My son wants some RGB fans ideally so would I need 2 or 3 Case fans to keep things cool?
4. Does the RGB stuff (fans / RAM) just automatically light up when plugged into the motherboard, or do I need any other components / software to achieve this?
5.To get Wifi into the machine, do I just need to but a separate card for the motherboard and does this need some sort of antenna (which would need to be bought separately too)?

I appreciate it's a lot of questions - Thanks so much in advance for any tips on the above!

Best,

Ben

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Hi,

Rgb memory should work plugged straight in case fans some have built in controler and some can also be connected to the motherboard .