Advice on whether to stick with contract role or to take permanent role

Associate
Hi all,

I'd like some advice on my next career move. I'm an agile/digital business analyst and I've recently ventured into my first contracting role. I'm currently on a 12 month contract doing a systems BA role i.e. issue investigation/resolution, configuration, test scripting/execution, supporting business users. The role is not going to help my career prospects, but the day rate is decent and the working environment is great I.e. nice/helpful colleagues, good/flexible hours and I can work from home. However I've just been offered a permanent role doing agile/digital/mobile/web work which will help my future career prospects a lot but the salary is a lot less.

So my dilemma is either

1. Stick with the contract role for the money, start my job search in 6 months and hope to get back into a role I want to do once my contract finishes or possibly slightly earlier if I’m lucky enough to get the right role.

2. Take the perm role and make do on the lower salary for two to three years and then hopefully I'll be in a better position to get a better paid permanent role or go back into contracting doing a role I want to do (not had any luck securing one of these this time round, possibly due to lack of experience).

I've spoken to a couple of recruiters who have suggested I take the permanent role as it's better to have continuity of the same roles on my CV. However I have a young family with my son about to go into nursery and my wife and I are looking to buy a bigger property as we're hoping to expand the family so the extra boost in income would really help albeit it's a short term boost. Plus the flexible and relaxed working environment helps if I have any baby related emergencies, although the permanent role may also be similarly flexible.

Slightly long winded but any advice would be great!

Thanks very much.

Associate
OP
Can you still make it work financially on the perm role?