1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Alder Lake-S leaks

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Grim5, 19 Jan 2021.

  1. Joxeon

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,445

    Location: Uk

    After seeing people pay over 3k for the 3090 nothing supprises me anymore.
     
  2. SKILL

    Soldato

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 6,110

    Location: Melksham

    That's crazy, even with the cashback it's well over £1000 *more* than I'd consider paying for a motherboard...
     
  3. kindai

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 9 Aug 2013

    Posts: 7,931

    Location: Bromsgrove


    Just the thought of it is sickening.
     
  4. Zarax

    Gangster

    Joined: 3 May 2021

    Posts: 235

    You guys... are taking the PCMR thing a little too seriously. Or perhaps I'm just misreading british humour.
     
  5. CaliKeith

    Associate

    Joined: 26 Jun 2016

    Posts: 92

    !!!

    don’t forget??


    I didnt even know about this!

    £100 off my Maximus Hero and 12900K!

    Nice!

    Thanks so much for the ‘reminder’. LOL.
     
  6. THX1138

    Gangster

    Joined: 30 Aug 2021

    Posts: 262

    Location: coventry

    promo`s promo`s everywhere :p
     
  7. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,911

    Location: South Coast

  8. Jay85

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 22 May 2010

    Posts: 7,540

    Looking at itx options, eye watering £1300 for cpu, board and ram! ouch...
     
  9. Frenzy

    Soldato

    Joined: 11 Sep 2009

    Posts: 5,405

    Location: Limbo

    Hm not bad, bravo asus.

    Spits out coffee all over the desk, jesus ****
     
  10. snarloas1982

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 7 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,037

    Location: belfast

    lol
     
  11. MartinPrince

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 Aug 2018

    Posts: 2,459

    Nice! That 12700KF will suit your usage (similar to mine) and will be a substantial upgrade on your 6700K. Do some timings before you strip it all down as I'd be interested to hear what real-world improvements you get.
     
  12. Adrian1976

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Mar 2017

    Posts: 613

    Location: Manchester

    Not something I'd normally do but went with the 12900k Retail (Usually get the model below I've in this case would have been the 12700k)

    However my current cooler the Corsair H150i Pro RGB isn't compatible with Alder Lake so I am ordering the H150i Elite Capelix in White for my white build but Corsair are being very unhelpful with information on when the standoffs will be available there isn't even a notify button on the UK website for the standoffs.

    Kinda quite annoying to be honest, It's not like LGA 1700 has just magically sprung upon them we've known for months, So with my CPU and motherboard hopefully coming next week it's all going to be an expensive paperweight for god knows how long, Thanks Corsair.
     
  13. Distracted

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 30 Aug 2018

    Posts: 2,481

    Guys, you're supposed to put both hands up during a robbery.
    :p



    I jest. Enjoy the board. :)
     
  14. Adrian1976

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Mar 2017

    Posts: 613

    Location: Manchester

    Nice one cheers for that, That means I got my Strix Z690A for £224 instead of £309, I'll take that haha.
     
  15. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,911

    Location: South Coast

    Get an Asus mobo and simply use the LGA 1200 mounting holes instead as their boards have both hole sets! Can then use your AIO's 1200 bracket.

    Aye I have been thinking about this all day! Just reinstalled Cyberpunk and will set up a batch export of a few hundred RAW files in Lightroom and time how long it takes to export to JPEG between them :cool:
     
    Last edited: 28 Oct 2021
  16. Adrian1976

    Hitman

    Joined: 17 Mar 2017

    Posts: 613

    Location: Manchester

    I think I messed up with the multi quote.
     
  17. mrk

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 88,911

    Location: South Coast

    Ahh yeah I see now. Surely though if the board has the 1200 holes then just use the AIO's 1200 standoffs etc as if it was a 1200 socket CPU? The height remains the same does it not between 1700 and 1200?

    I have no idea lol but am hoping the Arctic Freezer II I ordered just works this way else I'll be twiddling thumbs too.
     
  18. RavenXXX2

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Oct 2007

    Posts: 19,118

    Location: North West

  19. Purgatory

    Soldato

    Joined: 7 Dec 2010

    Posts: 5,383

    Location: Leeds

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

     
    Last edited: 28 Oct 2021
  20. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,139

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire