1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000) - *** NO COMPETITOR HINTING ***

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. CuriousTomCat

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 22, 2018

    Posts: 583

    It's guaranteed to work in the current X370 because it says so in the description. Nobody can give you a cast iron 100% guarantee that it will work in an unreleased and untested board. All we can say is that there's a very very very good chance it will work. Why not wait?
     
  2. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 2,808

    Location: Global

    Thanks bud. Ordered.. It can sit in the draw till I upgrade in the summer to x570 with a 3x00x
     
  3. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 2,808

    Location: Global

    True.

    8pack must know by now?
     
  4. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 3,902

    Location: In dem hills

    Crucial ballistix 3000mhz c15 2x16gb = £171 or Gskill trident z rgb 3200mhz c14 2x16gb = £274 seems a big jump for the difference? Seen there's gonna be a Gskill 3600mhz c14 kit coming soon as well but it's only in 16gb by the looks of it.

    Maybe better waiting and see tests first, might not be much in it between higher speeds.
     
  5. KentMan

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2016

    Posts: 357

    I paid £171 for my G.Skill Trident Z 3600mhz C16 from the site that sounds like a south american jungle, they are still in stock for £175, imho they are the best ram for Ryzen as i believe they are all B-Die.
     
  6. pete910

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 3, 2013

    Posts: 2,466

    And ?
     
  7. humbug

    Caporegime

    Joined: Mar 17, 2012

    Posts: 30,466

    £190 for 16GB crappy LPX, bought when Ram was expensive :(
     
  8. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 2,808

    Location: Global

    Can you run them at 3200 c14?
     
  9. FoxEye

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 17, 2006

    Posts: 19,921

    Location: Cornwall

    Is that actually true tho or are we potentially just paying more for "enthusiast grade" HDMI cables... (again)
     
  10. Journey

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,751

    Location: West Midlands

    Some boards will be built, belt and braces to make sure they can cope with a 16-core CPU heavily over locked, while using all of the I/O, the amount of people using that potential will be tiny.
    Manufacturers are pushing much more extravagant VRM solutions, and more PCB layers, that again most people won't use, but it is great for marketing.
     
  11. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 24, 2005

    Posts: 38,380

    Location: Autonomy

    C14 3200 > C16 3600
     
  12. KentMan

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2016

    Posts: 357

    I run them at the Stilts fast mem preset on my CH6 which is 3200mhz c14 :) if you had read my earlier post I stated this already.
     
  13. ~>Dg<~

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 1, 2006

    Posts: 31,301

    Location: Notts

    why would you be pre buying ram just wait. its falling all the time.
     
  14. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 3,902

    Location: In dem hills

    Regular RAM is ye but not so much B-Die.
     
  15. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 2,808

    Location: Global

    Why so much more than 8pack team group ram?
     
  16. KentMan

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2016

    Posts: 357

    Probably because they are G Skill and RGB
     
  17. lnoton

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 2,808

    Location: Global

    Well I've ordered the 8pack ram. Hoping it all works come ryzen build day
     
  18. The Old School Gamer

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 284

    Location: Brexit-Excommunicado

    The Teamforce / 8pack B-die is on special offer at the moment.
    It was nearly £200 not too long back, so grab it while you can as I suspect B-die will go into short supply next year. (it will be mostly E-die).
     
  19. marms

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 5, 2005

    Posts: 209

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I think everyone would be better off waiting for reviews before buying ram. What if it turns out that Zen 2 works better with C die ram?
     
  20. The Old School Gamer

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 22, 2019

    Posts: 284

    Location: Brexit-Excommunicado

    B-die is a known factor with Ryzen, so it's a pretty safe bet.
    At the end of the day they all conform to the same DDR4 spec.

    I do also see your point too though.
    Memory support is meant to be far better with Zen 2 with support possibly going up to 5000.
    The only thing is higher rated DDR4 memory is real expensive anyway, so I don't really see the point (not at the moment).
    Not when there is more value in overclocking cheaper memory to get to more or less the same place. (technically it's all OCs as the spec is 2100).

    But if anyone is in any doubt just wait a little longer until the 7th of July onwards, when the reviews and benchmarks start to hit the web. :)

    Oh look... people are building new PCs... BOOM price increase. :p:(
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2019