1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

AMD Zen 2 (Ryzen 3000)

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by Jamin280672, Jul 20, 2018.

  1. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 14,375

    More confusing then how intel are able to make a multicore GPU but not a CPU... *Mic drop for the night*
     
  2. ben90

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 3, 2009

    Posts: 1,213

    Location: Wiltshire

    'Zen 2 isn't coming anytime soon'

    I almost cried.
     
  3. Mercutio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 11, 2003

    Posts: 4,668

    Location: Sheffield, UK

    Nah, I didn't reply to anyone specifically to not make it even remotely "attacky" :)
    While a few light background bits aren't going to be a huge detriment... it... certainly COULD be something to keep in mind a wee bit.
    Benchmarks in reviews are done on sterile machines with fresh installs etc. The average home users experience is going to be coloured slightly by all the stuff we usually have running.
     
  4. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,711

    Location: Dormanstown.

    That doesn't make sense unless it doesn't work on prior chipsets.

    I really would have hoped AMD would have Zen 2 out for April. They need to maintain a solid release structure.
     
  5. chrcoluk

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 27, 2015

    Posts: 3,137

    I think I have decided already if there is a 4.5+ chip with comparable or better IPC to coffee lake, then I will switch over my main rig.
     
  6. ben90

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 3, 2009

    Posts: 1,213

    Location: Wiltshire

    Jim said that older motherboards will still work with Zen 2, but they will not support the highest memory speeds. No specification on whether this is desktop as well but I'm assuming so.
     
  7. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,711

    Location: Dormanstown.

    I don't know why they wouldn't release the CPU's then.
    AMD have done staggered launches before.
     
  8. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,142

    Location: Lincolnshire

    Accoring to Jim, multiple sources said about chipset delays, AMD considered launching Zen2 without X570 but decided against it. Also a mention of Thunderbolt 3 problems. I guess we'll never know for sure.

    That is for EPYC only as far as I am aware.
     
  9. Perfect_Chaos

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 3,859

    Location: In dem hills

    If the CPUs are supposed to be that good wouldn't they just release them anyway?
     
  10. ljt

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 28, 2002

    Posts: 2,808

    Location: Birmingham, UK

    It might be something to do with agreements with motherboard makers.

    They will sell more motherboards if they launch at the same time as the CPU's, especially those who are just coming over to AMD's ecosystem.

    If they release the CPU's first, then people who are new to the ecosystem will have to either buy X470/B450 and face bios upgrades etc, possibly souring the experience, or wait for the new motherboards to be released.

    They also risk the chance that people who already own X370/B350 etc boards but were on the fence about upgrading, could buy the new 3000 series CPU's, realise they work fine in the older boards, and thus decide not to bother upgrading their motherboards
     
  11. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,711

    Location: Dormanstown.

    As long as I can buy a Navi and full X570 Zen 2 set up together I'll be happy.
     
  12. ben90

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 3, 2009

    Posts: 1,213

    Location: Wiltshire

    No idea, but as long as we don't get a repeat of the first gen BIOS problems, I am happy to wait.
     
  13. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,711

    Location: Dormanstown.

    Given the rhetoric surround AMD platforms, this would only help the mind share and solidify that impression and goes a long way to removing my cynicism.
     
  14. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 5,548

    I can't afford an intel processor in the current scheme of things. Even though, I have the money, I prefer to spend my money wiser - for a new "green" car or a new house.
    I am not a fan of AMD (actually, I would prefer a Matrox graphics card, if it were available), I am a fan of optimising my expenses, and a good quality for the money. Intel doesn't check these requirements.

    We all need a technology progress, so we can enjoy improvements in the quality of our lives.
    I even think there is a cartel between AMD and nvidia for not pushing 4K resolutions and beyond, which will tremendously improve our experiences ergonomics-wise.
     
  15. ben90

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 3, 2009

    Posts: 1,213

    Location: Wiltshire

    Here's hoping, however he also said they are the same chips, on the same wafter. Could mean that it applies to both, I guess?
     
  16. Mercutio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 11, 2003

    Posts: 4,668

    Location: Sheffield, UK

  17. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,711

    Location: Dormanstown.

    How can they push 4K? It needs absolute insane levels of performance.

    I use my Vega 64 at 4K but I'd kill for double performance.
     
  18. 4K8KW10

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 2, 2017

    Posts: 5,548

    Chiplets and Crossfire ;)
     
  19. Martini1991

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 18, 2009

    Posts: 26,711

    Location: Dormanstown.

    That's not what I'd consider pushing it.
    There's a limited edition Vega 64 in the B-Grade section for 300 pound. I could buy it to crossfire with my same Vega 64 but there's not a chance in hell I'd touch a Vega 64 crossfire with a barge pole.

    I'd want a single GPU that's twice as powerful as my Vega 64.

    And even then, that's going to come in at an expensive price, so it's not really going to push it in terms of appeal.
     
  20. Mercutio

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 11, 2003

    Posts: 4,668

    Location: Sheffield, UK

    I've just made the jump to 120hz 4k. Zen 2 is about my last big upgrade before (probable) fatherhood. Getting them all in now :D