1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Any Lian Li Q08 owners here?

Discussion in 'Small Form Factor and Single Board Computers' started by Bradmax57, Dec 16, 2011.

  1. Bradmax57

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2002

    Posts: 7,369

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Just got one of these cases mainly for the 5.25" optical drive support (I know I know but I do actually use them regulary :D) what a pita it was to install everything, i think my main problem was with the motherboard being fixed to the side panel, im contemplating cutting the right handside in half so that the motherboard panel is permantly fixed to the case, just wondering what peoples experiences are with this otherwise nice looking case and any tips or advice you might have to making it a reasonably clean build :)
     
  2. Bradley8988

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2008

    Posts: 2,180

    Location: Sunny Wales.

    My Q07 has the same mobo on panel design. Its not the best but iv had worst cases to work on.
     
  3. pyropetepete

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Nov 15, 2011

    Posts: 1,156

    Same as the Q11 i think! Fit drives and cables (modular PSU helps here), fit optical drive, then fit mobo and then wire it up, pull cables out then fit them to psu and job done!
     
  4. neil_g

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2007

    Posts: 9,860

    Location: South Hampshire

    same with the V354 and my old Q07. complete pain for cable routing but they are lovely looking cases
     
  5. Venares

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 22, 2004

    Posts: 1,191

    Location: Middlesex, UK

    Same as my v354.
    I basicly have all the spare wiring crammed behind the hard drive cage so its nice and hidden.
     
  6. Bradley8988

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2008

    Posts: 2,180

    Location: Sunny Wales.

    Just to add i dont use a internal PSU so its probably a total pain thinking about it with a normal psu installed too.
     
  7. neil_g

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2007

    Posts: 9,860

    Location: South Hampshire

  8. Bradley8988

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 19, 2008

    Posts: 2,180

    Location: Sunny Wales.

    Yea i can imagine. You ever seen a way to convert it to usb3?
     
  9. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,220

    PSUs those are a big prob. They need external desktop PSUs.
     
  10. .:SAmSuNG:.

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 12, 2009

    Posts: 4,313

    Location: Germany

    There is for lower power rigs.
     
  11. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,220

    Yes, but a computer with a real cpu & gpu has none, something like this is a no go
    ASUS H61 - EPU, UEFI BIOS and Anti-Surge Protection - mATX Intel H61(B3) Micro ATX DDR3 1333 LGA 1155 Motherboard (P8H61-M LX) Intel Core i3-2100 Processor 3.1GHz 3 MB Cache 1333MHz 4 Gig DIMM-DRAM NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS with 512 DDR3 memory (PCIe 1.00 x16). Be awesome to have something like that in a NES case with a external PSU.
    I am obsessed with small pcs not sure why. I found this, http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/article/299 but no place actually sell external psus. Good review also http://www.devhardware.com/c/a/Power-Supply-Units/XG-Magnum-External-600w-PSU/ :).
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2011
  12. Bradmax57

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2002

    Posts: 7,369

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    Its running pretty well the main problem for me is using the AXP-140 CPU cooler as it had to be mounted before fitting the board, this made it almost impossible to plug in sata, front panel connectors, power connectors, fans etc etc

    I'm thinking about trying an antec 620 instead i think it will help a lot as it can fitted last
     
  13. neil_g

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2007

    Posts: 9,860

    Location: South Hampshire

    Huh? They can take full atx psu :confused:
     
  14. .:SAmSuNG:.

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 12, 2009

    Posts: 4,313

    Location: Germany

    I know that but not everyone wants a hot noisy psu taking up half the case.
     
  15. Edward78

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 5,220

    Did no one see the external one I linked???
     
  16. Bradmax57

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2002

    Posts: 7,369

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    my psu isnt hot or noisy :D it may take up half the case however
     
  17. .:SAmSuNG:.

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 12, 2009

    Posts: 4,313

    Location: Germany

    Depends what you consider hot or noisy. :)
     
  18. Bradmax57

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 13, 2002

    Posts: 7,369

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    lol, well its cold to touch and I cant hear it :D