1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Anyone recommend a smart plug with energy usage monitor built in?

Discussion in 'Home and Garden' started by NeilF, 6 Dec 2020.

  1. NeilF

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Marlow

    Well, can't get the Kasa ones from the african river (no stock), so I've gone for the ones in that video...
     
  2. NeilF

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Marlow

    Grrrr... Got these Teckin units today. Battled away and just couldn't get the energy usage feature to display in the app.

    A little message tucked away in a discussion on the african river had a reply from the manufacturer that they've now removed the feature. Returning... Now trying Gosund ones...
     
  3. katie279

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jul 2007

    Posts: 333

    Ah... Now I remember! Sorry, wish I could have remembered earlier - yes they all have some dodgy firmware, some people are turning to flashing theirs manually, but a bit of a faff and even that is being blocked.

    Have some gosund ones also - although not ones with energy monitoring. They're ok!
     
  4. jpaul

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Mar 2010

    Posts: 15,548

    Have you set up monitoring at the meter too(blink counting) ?, so that you can monitor oven, hob, or washer/dryer(although they have plugs)

    There remains an absence of peripherals in the market, and smart meters are (currently) pretty rubbish for telemetry, DIY with an arduino+photo-detectors circuit seems the only way to go.
     
  5. Semple

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 5 Mar 2010

    Posts: 9,023

    I can recommend Meross.

    Edit: Although on second thoughts, iirc a friend buying some recently and said they'd discontinued the model that had energy monitoring - he did manage to find some stock of the older model though.

    Seems rather strange that a lot of them aren't doing the energy monitoring features anymore.

    There's a few ways of measuring at the meter, I came across one company that have a device with an open API that you can use to pull telemetry data from your smart meter.

    The only other alternative I've read of, is utility company called Octopus where they have an API where you can pull your data from their servers - it's not quite direct from the smart meter itself, but should at least give you an accurate view down to 30 minute increments.


    I'd really like a way of being able to pull the same data from the water meter. I've seen one invention where someone used an OCR camera (optical character recognition) to take a photo of the meter reading, and then converting that into a digital text format.
     
  6. katie279

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jul 2007

    Posts: 333

    Yes I'm with octopus and also have an efergy meter clamp that lets me track total energy use. Agree it's a bit of a mess how outdated all this is.

    This should be the next step:
    https://youtu.be/zvhzfJjpxJ0
     
  7. jpaul

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Mar 2010

    Posts: 15,548

    yes, I've posted on a zigbee one before about £40 though and some code to write.
    Octopus is, as you say 30minutes, but to identify oven signature need more precision,
    one company was talking about an AI based meter level signature monitor, based on power factors, to automatically identify (most) devices
     
  8. NeilF

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Marlow

    Well the Gosand ones seem to work well, give at least a reasonable indication of energy usage too, and on the african river are only £8.49 each at the moment.
     
  9. darael

    Mobster

    Joined: 10 Jul 2010

    Posts: 4,943

    @katie279
    Those graphs look good and the minute-by-minute graphs appeal to me. The privacy-orientated Home Assistant software also appeals to me, as I am dead against Alexa, Google Assistant, etc.

    But the only thing that puts me off is the lack of Windows software for viewing the graphs and the need for a Raspberry Pi to generate the graphs. Is there any other privacy-orientated software that can generate and the view the graphs? My PC is on 24/7, but that doesn't mean I want to have a virtual machine running - that's just circumventing the lack of Windows support.
     
  10. NeilF

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Marlow

    Indeed, if there was just a dedicated Windows program/service that could do the collecting rather than a dedicate operating system, that would be ideal for me...
     
  11. jpaul

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Mar 2010

    Posts: 15,548

    but they are not giving recordable telemetry into an excel spreadsheet/cvs file, for a post mortem.
    one of the links I bookmarked https://www.mysensors.org/build/pulse_power
     
  12. NeilF

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Marlow

    Indeed, but they do give a reasonable current energy usage and a historical usage out of the box, for just £8.49 ;)

    Going to put one on the tumble dryer out of interest to gauge it's running cost.
     
  13. katie279

    Gangster

    Joined: 20 Jul 2007

    Posts: 333


    What's the issue with non-windows (or indeed the attraction??) - grafana etc are all web based so I can playaway on Windows PCs, Linux as required.

    Home assistant you could spin up as a VM on your Windows PC just more suited to a NAS or standalone as it's an 'always on' sort of thing, so dedicated raspberry pi is ideal/low power etc

    Apols if not understood the question!
     
  14. Mysterae_

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 15 Sep 2008

    Posts: 1,121

    Some of you may be interested in Loop for energy monitoring. It may not have the level of detail and granularity that some desire and it does cost £12 a year subscription after the first year. I'm still considering it myself but looking at other more detailed options.
     
  15. Loagi

    Associate

    Joined: 22 Mar 2020

    Posts: 58

    The TP-Link aren't bad - and far less likely to phone home to China or turn into a bot than no-name stuff.
     
  16. NeilF

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2003

    Posts: 13,907

    Location: Marlow

    Given TP-Link are out of stock, and Gosund are half the price, Gosund won.