apprentaships? how do they work? career change!

Caporegime
Hey people as some of you no i fix computers for a living and i enjoy working with computers.

but basically after fixing them all day i come home and go on mine and with all the computers all the time its doing in my head, now computers i enjoy as a hobby so dont want to stop. but im thinking as im only young (17) of doing an apprentiship (sp?)

and having a complete career change, so i can keep my hobby of computers that i enjoy and do something completely different. thinking something hands on!

but before i decide what im going to do i ask. how do apprentiships actually work? can someone explain how they work please. and the ins and outs of them. like do you get payed etc?

I apprieciate all help and advice :)

Soldato
You get paid a salary and are released usually one day a week to go to college and study for a formal qualification in your chosen area of work.

Pros are:

Work experience
Usually a job at the end of the 1-3 years
A qualification
Kudos (people like a person who qualified through working)

Cons are:

Poor pay (somtimes just EMA!)
You are the lowest of the low in some employers eyes and they can treat you like the tea boy

There aren't usually a huge number around and you will need to proove you are keen and have good basic skills too. You are unlikely to just walk into one and may have to do some searching, speak to you local Connexions office for more info

MB

Suspended
Apprenticeships and I'm looking for one currently.

Mines to be the Engineering field and they are normally 3 years to a max of 4 years long.

Start about September time and normally consist of 4 days working with a company and one day at day release.

You pay scale rises through out the years you train and when you finish you are normally hired by the company and then your pay scale goes up a lot.

Capodecina
Permabanned