1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Asrock dual sata 2 cant install nvidia drivers!

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by easyrider, 30 May 2006.

  1. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    Hi,

    Just built a new pc for someone with that asrock dual sata 2, venice 3000 and nvidia 6800 XT graphics card.

    I have installed windows and the latest mobo drivers from asrock site but when I try to install the nvidia drivers the system hangs and will not fully install them.

    Any ideas?

    Is there a setting in the bios (1.60) that i should be using ?

    Any help with this would be appreciated.Is there compatibility problems with this mobo and NV gfx cards?

    Thanks for all the help I'm confused on this one. :confused:
     
  2. dalex

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 809

    Location: gatesheed(gods country)

    can you list the full system and are graphics agp or pci as it must be selected in *** bios on bot up
    dave
     
  3. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    asrock dual sata 2
    venice 3000
    1 x gig generic ram
    agp 6800 XT
    maxtor 40 gig hard drive
    antec 350 smartpower psu.

    I have selected boot graphics to AGP in the bios.
    Does fastwrites have to be enabled?

    Thanks for the quick response.
     
  4. dalex

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Jan 2005

    Posts: 809

    Location: gatesheed(gods country)

    mine is bios 1.2 and agp graphics ,not nvidia though
    agp aperture size 128 mb
    agp data rate 8x
    agp fast write enabled
    primary graphics agp
    has the graphics card got an extra power supply to it
    are all the mobo drivers up to date and installed 32 bit or 64 bit windows
    is it the drivers with the card or the latest from the website
    is it sata hdd if so drivers for it are needed
    does the card work in another pc okay ,is their any graphics at all
    dave
     
  5. Zorlac

    Associate

    Joined: 25 May 2006

    Posts: 12

    Isnt the latest BIOS for that mobo v1.9?
     
  6. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy


    yeah the gfx card has a 4 pin molex
    all the drivers are from the install CD and the agp is from the site version 2.30
    The HDD is ide
    Yes the card works fine in his old athlon XP pc as e was using the card in that before I ordered the mobo new memory and chip.

    Is there any reason why you are using such an old bios?
     
  7. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    yeah the lates bios for the mobo is 1.90 but the later ones seem to only address AM2.

    so figure the 1.60 would be ok

    I will flash to the lates bios and see if this does anything.

    People are using this mobo with nivida cards right?
     
  8. hohum

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Dec 2004

    Posts: 1,199

  9. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

  10. hohum

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Dec 2004

    Posts: 1,199

    Up to you, prolly not essential.
     
  11. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    Is speedfan ok with this mobo?
     
  12. sablabra

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Dec 2005

    Posts: 1,218

    At least you are able to increase fsb over 274mhz with the 1.8 bios and I guess the 1.9 as well.
     
  13. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    It sure is! Note that on speed fan you wil find that temp 1 is pretty much the case temp, temp 2 will be your CPU temp, and temp 3 is your motherboard chipset temp. I only point this out as the temp numbers are different on my other pc's. Although i cant get speedfan to adjust my fan speeds, lol i just use it to report
     
  14. ns400r

    Mobster

    Joined: 23 Apr 2004

    Posts: 3,580

    Location: UK, Near the middle......

    Speedfan can cause high CPU usage in some cases.
    And it's not possible to adjust fan speeds with it because Asrock neglected to add that 'feature' to the monitoring chip.
     
  15. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    I'm not bothered about fans speeds I just want to monitor temps when overclocking.

    I have been advised to enable the AGP P2P Deep FIFO option in the bios.

    what on earth is this and do you all have it enabled?

    thanks
     
  16. Foehammer2003

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Apr 2006

    Posts: 979

    Location: Arms reach from mouse

    oh... never heard of it before, on my rig its fine... my processes barely flicker beyond 0.6% usage with it on. :)
     
    Last edited: 30 May 2006
  17. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    I enable that deep FIFO in the bios and cand now install the drivers.
    I have flashed the bios to version 1.9

    when I try and run 3d mark 05 i get this this error message.

    IDDIRECT3DDEVICE9resentfailed:device lost DSDERR-DEvice lost

    what does this mean.

    I have enabled fast writes in the bios

    specs

    asrock dual sata 2
    venice 3000
    1 x gig generic ram
    agp 6800 XT
    maxtor 40 gig hard drive
    antec 350 smartpower psu.

    I have selected boot graphics to AGP in the bios.


    Thanks for the quick response.


    Please help
     
  18. ninjapilot

    Hitman

    Joined: 22 Oct 2003

    Posts: 943

    Location: UK, Brighton

    Get the Intergrated ULI drivers from here :
    http://www.nvidia.com/page/uli_drivers.html
    did you install Direct X9c?

    Ninja

    EDIT: sounds if the chipset drivers arn't installed correctly, i have fastwrites off in bios, fifo set to enabled and all ok with my setup
     
    Last edited: 31 May 2006
  19. hohum

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 27 Dec 2004

    Posts: 1,199

    Are you using the AGP driver from the cd? If so, that one is buggy - you should download the integrated package from ULi and use the driver from that. Bear in mind that you will have to uninstall your graphics card again, reboot, and then uninstall the AGP driver if that is the case.
     
  20. easyrider

    Caporegime

    Joined: 24 Dec 2005

    Posts: 39,852

    Location: Autonomy

    quick update,

    I enabled the FIFO and flashed the bios to 1.90

    And did a windows reinstall.
    reinstalled the latedst agp driver from asrock site and used the latest NV from NV site.

    currently running the venice at 2.250ghz 9x250 at 1.425v.
    Ram At 1 T

    while I was at it I unlocked the 4 extra pipes on the 6800 XT so thanks for all your help people.

    seems to running great now so after a bit of teething trouble it seems like a nice mobo.