1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Asus 7900GTX Specs say Vista Ready??

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by poltergeist666, 6 Jun 2006.

  1. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 377

    Location: Southampton

    Was looking at a used Asus 7900GTX, and did a price check againt OCUK - (the guy happened to be asking too much :rolleyes: )

    anyway

    looked at the specs regarding this card, and have copied part of them below -

    Nvidia Pure Video Technology – Delivering high definition video playback supporting H.264 and WMV9
    - Dedicated Video processors free the GPU Shaders to run 3D applications – Letting the GPU do what it does best
    - Built for Windows Vista – The next generation operating system - Dual link DVI support
    - SLI ready – Delivering upto 2x the performance
    - Shader Model 3.0 Support

    Note line in bold italics -

    I thought that DX10 cards were needed to run Vista with all the bells and whistles, so is the spec misleading, or have I missed something.
     
  2. Digital-Prozac

    Gangster

    Joined: 1 Dec 2003

    Posts: 140

    Location: Oxfordshire UK

    Vista will run happy with all "bells n whistles" on a DX9 card. Not had any issues with my 7800GTX and the latest beta of Vista
     
  3. janesssssy

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 3,450

    Location: Wiltshire

    :rolleyes:

    do a search on my user name and find the thread that i started about vista.

    your card is not "vista ready" Nvidia are but the graphics manufacturers are not.

    edit: here you go
     
  4. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 377

    Location: Southampton

    So basically, the DX10 cards (when they arrive) will only be at an advantage with DX10 games, as opposed to showing better performance/features within the Desktop?
     
  5. janesssssy

    Mobster

    Joined: 6 Feb 2004

    Posts: 3,450

    Location: Wiltshire


    no the desktop will be DX10. thats where all the bells and whistles are.
    see the above post with link.
     
  6. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 377

    Location: Southampton

    Ah - copyright issues (HDCP) - he's says as things become a little clearer. :)

    Cheers.
     
  7. poltergeist666

    Gangster

    Joined: 21 Feb 2003

    Posts: 377

    Location: Southampton

    So is Digital Prozac running all the bells and whistles or not?