1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

At the bottom of the top! My FAH goal acheived

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by 3t3P, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Been folding close to 24/7 (breaks for gaming) since the COVID19 WUs have come out on the client.

    Been a good outlet to feel i'm contributing.

    At full tilt I can score an estimated 2.2-2.6 Million PPD.

    I've reached my goal of getting to be in the top members area, such that my name is visible within the vertical height of my monitor.

    As of just now I actually climbed another place so i'm sat on 21,914,841 points.

    Seems a 2080S is allowing me to catch people with relative ease, for now.

    Can anyone explain what rank is? is that worldwide or how does it work?

    I have completed less WUs than some people but have higher points? what's up with that.

    Fixed energy plan ftw
    [​IMG]
     
  2. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,556

    Location: Surrey

  3. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Cheers Biffa.

    May I ask what kind of cray system do you have? you have a build log?

    and you've been doing other projects for many years also?
     
  4. robj20

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 9, 2007

    Posts: 8,841

    Not done any folding for years now. Only have a laptop that isn't worth using. Still ranked at 140 though.

    Question, can anyone use the same username at a different team.
    I've folded for a few teams always with the same username. But someone is folding at a team I don't recognise with my name.
     
  5. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    I joined ocuk for first time using my username. I presume you can move around?
     
  6. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,556

    Location: Surrey

    The username isn't unique, Passkeys are used as a unique identifier, make sure you have one setup as you need it for bonus points etc.

    3t3P oh I've been doing this stuff a long time now, since Seti@Home first started in 1999

    I only have two 2080ti's at the moment. But I've had a shed load of folding machines in the past and contributed to just about every project that we have a team in. :D
     
  7. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Only two 2080 Tis, you poor man, what a poverty spec PC you must have :D

    Looking forward to Ampere for folding?
     
  8. Luke

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 19, 2005

    Posts: 6,940

    Location: S. Yorkshire

    Aww.... I'm only 2 spot above you but at less than 300k PPD you'll stomp me very very shortly!!!
     
  9. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Sorry! My time will come too no doubt!
     
  10. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,556

    Location: Surrey

    Two separate PC's :)

    Ahh the good old days, this is an interesting thread: https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/eventhorizon.18518241/

    When we all used to run quad CPU server boards and Stanford rewarded us with big points bonuses, now one GPU gets more than two bigadv rigs put together.

    Or quad titans: https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/t...e-aboot-this-hoose-weebeastie.18166637/page-4
     
  11. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Madness the amount of hardware for corresponding points.

    How even among GPUs performance has gone up massively.

    Then the leccy bills! I'm on fixed plan for first time in my life, though I realise the concept of fair useage I hope my rig which peaks at around 510W measured from the wall isn't anything too anomalous?
     
  12. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Why do sometimes I get no GPU work unit but if I pause then resume the client I sometimes get units right away?
     
  13. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,556

    Location: Surrey

    Just luck, because you are just catching the server when its not overloaded with requests.
     
  14. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Oh right, sometimes it really seems like it's helped get more work.

    Right now though they seem plentiful last 24-36 hrs rig has been crunching continuously.

    I thought I read only the 2080 TI was get north of 2million PPD but my 2080S is doing up to 2.7 Million

    What does one 2080 Ti get?
     
  15. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,556

    Location: Surrey

    Depends whether on Linux or Windows, all folding@home is faster and generates more points on Linux.

    So around 3.5 million, non overclocked on Linux and 3.1-3.2 million on Windows

    Code:
    Project ID: 11759
     Core: OPENMM_22
     Credit: 15396
     Frames: 100
    
    
     Name: BLING Slot 01
     Path: bling.3dgfx.net-36330
     Number of Frames Observed: 226
    
     Min. Time / Frame : 00:00:42 - 3,562,396.5 PPD
     Avg. Time / Frame : 00:00:43 - 3,438,851.7 PPD
    
    
     Name: MARS Slot 01
     Path: localhost-36331
     Number of Frames Observed: 298
    
     Min. Time / Frame : 00:00:45 - 3,212,160.3 PPD
     Avg. Time / Frame : 00:00:47 - 3,009,327.1 PPD
    
     
  16. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    What's scaling with multiple cards like?
     
  17. PDW

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 21, 2014

    Posts: 1,813

    It does help, it resets the backoff counter (back to 90 seconds I think) when it could have been waiting hours before it retried to get work again.
     
  18. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,556

    Location: Surrey

    As long as you have a core per card scaling is pretty much 100%

    For me, I use two different PC's so scaling is not relevant.
     
  19. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    cpu core per card?
     
  20. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 20, 2006

    Posts: 3,162

    Today I briefly had 3 Million PPD come up. does that mean i've been churning through more regular work from the servers or they've changed the work units themselves or both?

    or has my 2080S evolved into a 2080Ti ?!