Azure or AWS

Associate
Hi

I'm looking to start to use cloud services and am wondering if Azure or AWS is the best way to go

I would be looking to setup a Virtual Server and a few Desktops to begin with as a test lab

Anyone else done similar and could offer any advice?

Cheers

Associate
I would be looking to setup a Virtual Server and a few Desktops to begin with as a test lab

If all you're looking to do is run VMs in the cloud then I'd have a re-think. You don't save any money doing things that way versus running things on a local hypervisor over medium- to long-term timeframes. As an example I run a pair of B1ms (2GB RAM, 1 CPU) instances in Azure and they cost about £12/month each, or about £300 per year for the pair. As a comparison you can buy a HP Microserver for just over £300 and own it permanently, with ESXi on one of those you will have a lot more capability than 2x B1ms. The only reason it works for me is because I have an old MSDN subscription that I signed up for years ago that gives £40/m in free credits, so I don't actually pay anything.

If you're planning to eventually consume cloud-native services like S3, hosted Kubernetes or hosted database services then it's worth it, but for VM-based stuff either stick to local hosting or look at Digital Ocean, Linode or AWS Lightsail for a cheap cloud VPS.

Soldato