Being headhunted, feeling dispirited at work, but at the centre of a brand new project…need advice

Soldato
Hi guys,

I’m in need of some advice. It’s tearing me up inside at the moment and whilst my wife is great to talk to, I need some more input. I've sort of been posting about it here already, but I'm feeling so conflicted so sorry in advance for the wall of text.

I’ve been working at the same company for 8 years as of next week. I’ve been there more or less since I left university, and I’ve got from CAD engineer to product manager in that time. I love the company, but in the last year I’ve been feeling like it’s too unstructured and I’m not really learning anything any more. I’ve expressed this in part to my two directors, who I have a very open dialogue with and a good relationship.

They gave me a poor pay rise recently and that, combined with how I’ve been feeling, have made me want to look for a new position. I don’t feel that I should have to fight to be paid a decent wage for what I’ve achieved. They are planning to come back to me before next pay cycle with a better figure, but part of me thinks they should have started with a better figure.

So, my CV is out in the world. I’m being headhunted now. I’ve had two interviews in two days for decent companies. One at least would give a much better package than I’m on now and that I’m expecting to get from my current employer. I also believe it’ll give me more structure so that I can really grow professionally. So as you’re reading this I’m imagining you’re thinking, that sounds like a no brained.