Best general use headphones for between £150-£250

Associate
Mostly gonna be used for gaming and also watching movies/tv shows. I was thinking of going for the Sennheiser 598. Any other recommendations for my price range would be appreciated, thanks.

Associate
OP
I don't have a amp. Would it make more sense to get the 598 and then a decent(ish) amp instead of buying a pair without an amp at the top of my budget? If so are there any amps you'd recommend (I'm totally new to this).

Associate
Get the HD599 for gaming/music/movies and HD600s if just music. Without a decent amp though defo go for the HD599. They are great all rounders for sure.

Soldato
For headphone gaming you would want to have binaural-sound.
Aka sound card with good HRTF.
And not that it would be bad thing for movies with their surround sound tracks.

While of course always dependant on listeners head and ear shape results can be quite nice with good headphones.
Meaning there's both sense of direction to sound and also that it feels to come from father than next to ear.
Closed gaming headphones tend to be good for head in bucket size sound stage.
This can literally sound like there's real big space around you or that everything happens in bucket size space.
(Dolby always echoing badly is its feature)

Associate
Had 360 and custom cans fully modded 650 (with oppo ha-1). Both are gone now and use akg 712/mod mic with a chord mojo. Highly recommend trialing the akgs for a week along side the sennys.

Associate
I would probably recommend the akg 702 over the Senns. Better soundstage and imaging for gaming. Nothing wrong with the hd598/9 of course and to most there wouldn't be a huge difference. Got gaming I would say there is little point in getting any higher Senn headphone such as the hd650 (which would be a tad dark anyway)