1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Best upgrade for £300?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by djshauny1, Feb 10, 2019.

  1. djshauny1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 18, 2011

    Posts: 3,390

    Hello everyone.

    I'm currently using a GTX 960, the 4GB card and fancied an upgrade.

    Whats the best card to upgrade to for £300?

    Thanks in advance :)
     
  2. Minibiker

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 27, 2016

    Posts: 2,926

    Location: Swindon

    Vega or a RX580
     
  3. ALXAndy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 23, 2010

    Posts: 9,985

    Location: West Sussex

    Yeah it has to be Vega 56. I would avoid the RX 580 because it's like upgrading from your 960 to something like a 970/980 which IMO would not be a big enough jump.
     
  4. MyBrains

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 30, 2012

    Posts: 2,121

    Location: Stoke On Trent

  5. djshauny1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 18, 2011

    Posts: 3,390

    Thank you chaps.

    Vega 56 it is :)
     
  6. Morve

    Gangster

    Joined: May 28, 2017

    Posts: 455

    Yeah, Vega 56 all day
     
  7. djshauny1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 18, 2011

    Posts: 3,390

    Thank you! :)
     
  8. LoadsaMoney

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 8, 2003

    Posts: 27,231

    Location: In a house

  9. Maldoror

    Associate

    Joined: Apr 9, 2017

    Posts: 65

    Location: Eve Online

    Do you overclock and enjoy tweaking a card? If so, Vega 56 has a lot of headroom. But if you just want to dial in a couple settings and run, I'd consider a 2060. OcUK have them for £330, and you get newer tech and gimmicks like RTX to mess around with, which may or may not provide mileage in the future (e.g. DLSS). The 2060 is generally slightly faster than the Vega 56 at stock/mild overclocking. If you check the Gamer's Nexus review (https://www.gamersnexus.net/hwrevie...-founders-edition-review-benchmark-vs-vega-56) the 2060 generally wins until the 56 is modded out. You do get a little more VRAM with the 56 though, and the £30 saved buys you a game.
     
  10. greatash

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 29, 2013

    Posts: 410

    56

    cheaper, more and faster vram, 3 games. same performance as 64/1080 once you bump the mem clock up a little and undervolt/turn power slider up which takes 5-10mins.
     
  11. Gibbo

    Commissario

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 30,761

    Location: OcUK HQ

  12. djshauny1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 18, 2011

    Posts: 3,390

    Thank you Gibbo. I'll be ordering this tonight once I get back home.

    One question if I may. I currently have a Corsair 500w PSU. Will that be enough for the 56? Or do you recommend I upgrade?

    Many thanks :)
     
  13. ScottMC7000

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2009

    Posts: 234

    Location: Moray,Scotland

    What's the main reason for the upgrade, what can't you do with the one you have ? The card you have supports 5760 x 1080 (4 screens) for example.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2019
  14. Dalandius

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 5, 2014

    Posts: 234

    Interesting you can do that and get more out but at the same time it would be nice if AMD released a card you did not have to "tune" to make it work like it should.
     
  15. greatash

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 29, 2013

    Posts: 410

    I know, hopefully they dont bodge up Navi release. First impressions are very important on gpus, if all people hear is hot and loud on day 1 because of reference coolers they will think that forever
     
  16. MaXxBoulton

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 889

    Location: Dagobah system

    Whats your system specs, vaga 56 would be best choice for 300. Just that depends on what cpu and ram you have
     
  17. LuckyBenski

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 28, 2017

    Posts: 2,894

    Location: London

    That's definitely 3 screens ;)
     
  18. nitram100

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 7, 2009

    Posts: 4,270

    Location: London

    As said above, vega 56 sapphire pulse. Using with an old 3570k at 4.5ghz and i know this will last me for at least 3 years , I only game at 1080p however. Runs cool and quiet.
     
  19. satchef1

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 17, 2009

    Posts: 3,949

    A Vega 56 and an overclocked i5 3570k on a 500W PSU? Could be pushing it, especially if you want to OC the Vega...
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
  20. MaXxBoulton

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 11, 2019

    Posts: 889

    Location: Dagobah system


    Depending on the games are setting, I would think the 3570k is getting its end of life.

    I know it's overclocked but more and more games want cores instead of faster single cores. I don't see the 3570k lasting 3more years... Depending on the games you play

    You could drop and i7 or exin in and extend its life a little..