Bike insurance for a 24 year old

Associate
Hi guys I've had my licence 3 years now did my DAS in 2009 when I was 21. Still not got round to buying a bike due to work and buying a house etc.

Now I've finally got to the stage where I'm getting the bike bug and recently been looking at insurance. The bike I would like is a 2007-2008 ZX6-R. But insurance seems to be crazy. £2000+ for the year.

I've tried other similar bikes (GSXR,R6 etc) with the same result. Am I to expect this with me being young and having no NCB?

I'm sure only a year ago I was getting quotes much less than this and being a year younger.

Anyone no of some companies who I can try for cheaper quotes?

Cheers

Matt

Soldato
Try swinton bikes i started riding when i was 24 (im 26 now) and i paid £950 full comp for my honda hornet. Now im paying £440 after only riding for 2 years.

Associate
as soon as it is a supersport you can double or triple your quote.

for a triumph daytona 675 i was quoted about £4000 for a year. however for the street triple r £1300.

so you may want to look for a good naked bike for a bit then when you get some no claims trade her out for something with fairings if that is still what you want.

Associate
OP
as soon as it is a supersport you can double or triple your quote.

for a triumph daytona 675 i was quoted about £4000 for a year. however for the street triple r £1300.

so you may want to look for a good naked bike for a bit then when you get some no claims trade her out for something with fairings if that is still what you want.

I think your right with that matey. Really wanted a sports bike though that's the annoying thing. I do like the triumph street triple though and look more than capable as a first bike.

4T5

4T5

Man of Honour
Stuman is right. Look around at Sports Tourers find one you like & get a quote on it. With personal experience I can say that Sports bikes are not the ideal bike to own for road use.