Bios updating

Associate
Joined
22 Aug 2009
Posts
717
Location
Nottingham
I bought my asus maximum formula se on the 06 dec 07 i was running a q6600 till now ive upgraded to a q9650 but having problems with boot up. it comes up with testcmos. i been talking to other on varies sites and they've all come to the conclusion i need to upgrade the bios. As am not really comfortable with doing that i was wondering would overclockers uk do it.
 
Permabanned
Joined
15 Nov 2008
Posts
6,968
doub it but its actually really easy to do yourself, just dont use AISuite, do it form the BIOS using EZflash
Firstly you need a USB stick
Then you want to format it as bootable, HP has good utility, google it
Download the latest BIOS and put that on your USB stick too
Then follow these steps

Update:

Reboot.
Press (tap) <DEL> during POST (Power-On Self Test) to enter BIOS Setup.
Load BIOS Defaults (press <F5>).
Insert the USB Flash Disk containing the BIOS file P5BDxxxx.ROM. (Note that the USB Flash Disk has to be inserted before boot to enter BIOS, otherwise it won't be detected).
Save and Exit <F10>. (BIOS will now restart).
During BIOS restart, press <DEL> to enter BIOS Setup again.
Under Tools menu, select ASUS EZ Flash 2. It may take 20 seconds for the drives to show up. Select a drive in the left pane <Tab>. Use <Up> and <Down> arrows and <Enter> to select a drive. If you don't see the BIOS file in the right pane, check the other drives. Note that the drive letters are not the same here as in Windows and that no HDD's (NTFS devices) are shown here.
Select the BIOS file (e.g. P5BD1101.ROM) and press <Enter> to start flashing. Supervise the update, which includes the following stages: Erasing - Flashing (writing) - Verification. BIOS will automatically restart when the update is ready.
Disconnect the USB Flash Disk before/during the restart.
Perform a C.P.R. (CPU Parameter Recall) which resets the chipset. Power down, remove power cord from the PSU for 2 minutes and then power up.
Enter BIOS and load BIOS Defaults <F5> again.
Reenter your preferred BIOS settings - if you are using AHCI or RAID mode, don't forget to set 'Configure SATA as' to [AHCI / RAID]. Also remember the settings for the JMicron Controller, Audio and Memory Voltage. Check also that the Boot Device Priority is ok.
Save and Exit <F10> (automatic restart).
Press <DEL> to enter BIOS Setup and make a final check that all BIOS settings are ok. Save any changes
 
Associate
Joined
14 Sep 2009
Posts
149
all you have to do is pop your old CPU back in and boot into windows then use the ASUS app called ASUS-update, let this run and it will show you what bios you have already and what is available to install, just pick the new bios and let it do its thing.

It will download and install the new bios and then ask you to reboot, after then all will be fine and you can then install your new CPU and it will work without any problems.
 
Permabanned
Joined
15 Nov 2008
Posts
6,968
do NOT use asus update, and do NOT recomend people use it, this has borked so many peoples boards, I cannot understand why asus still supply it.
Updating your BIOS is risky, and as such you need to do everything you can to mitigate that risk, including only updating when NECESSARY, the first thing being to NEVER EVER update it from within windows, its asking for trouble, ALWAYS use the actual BIOS tools
Just to clarify, its only risky as if something happens mid install, then it borks your board (unless you have removable chip and can source another) by doing it through the actual BIOS the only thing that can go wrong is a power cut, risk mitigated
 
Associate
Joined
14 Sep 2009
Posts
149
do NOT use asus update, and do NOT recomend people use it, this has borked so many peoples boards, I cannot understand why asus still supply it.
Updating your BIOS is risky, and as such you need to do everything you can to mitigate that risk, including only updating when NECESSARY, the first thing being to NEVER EVER update it from within windows, its asking for trouble, ALWAYS use the actual BIOS tools
Just to clarify, its only risky as if something happens mid install, then it borks your board (unless you have removable chip and can source another) by doing it through the actual BIOS the only thing that can go wrong is a power cut, risk mitigated

I have forgotten how many ASUS motherboards I have tested and not once have I had any problems using ASUS update, the main thing to remember is have the system at default settings before updating the bios, providing there is not a power cut you will be fine.
 
Permabanned
Joined
15 Nov 2008
Posts
6,968
I have forgotten how many ASUS motherboards I have tested and not once have I had any problems using ASUS update, the main thing to remember is have the system at default settings before updating the bios, providing there is not a power cut you will be fine.

Youve been extremely lucky then, just google it, youll see theres thousands, tens of thousands of peoples boards dying, probably hundreds just on here, certainly dozens
 
Top Bottom