BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Associate
Joined
30 Oct 2009
Posts
441
Location
Camberley
Evening, I'm moving into a FTTP enabled new build (2020) this week and I'm still undecided which ISP to go for.
I've had FTTC with Plusnet for the last 7.5yrs with zero issues. Not fussed about the ISP provided router, I'll be using my own existing setup probably.

Static IP is a bonus but not a deal breaker.
I'll likely opt for a minimum of 500mb.

BT seems suspiciously cheap compared to the likes to Zen/IDNET.
I was looking at Vodafone but oddly their website doesn't list any full fibre plans for the property when they did last week. Maybe the pop hit capacity.

Just a bit out the scene to be honest. Any input is welcome.
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,000
BT/Sky/Zen are all perfectly fine. Vodafone are rumoured to have congestion issues and I have read Sky have too but I haven't seen anything conclusive for the latter. I'm with Zen personally as I require a static IP address for work and the connection has been flawless.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,307
Location
UK
BT/Sky/Zen are all perfectly fine. Vodafone are rumoured to have congestion issues and I have read Sky have too but I haven't seen anything conclusive for the latter. I'm with Zen personally as I require a static IP address for work and the connection has been flawless.

Oh, where did you find that out?
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,000
Oh, where did you find that out?
Sky forums and other sources. They apparently delayed launching FTTP due to internal network/congestion issues and wanted more capacity. Whether that's true or not I don't know but it does strike me as odd that they took so long and they still don't offer the full 900 Mbps package.
 
Soldato
Joined
20 Aug 2006
Posts
9,346
Evening, I'm moving into a FTTP enabled new build (2020) this week and I'm still undecided which ISP to go for.
I've had FTTC with Plusnet for the last 7.5yrs with zero issues. Not fussed about the ISP provided router, I'll be using my own existing setup probably.

Static IP is a bonus but not a deal breaker.
I'll likely opt for a minimum of 500mb.

BT seems suspiciously cheap compared to the likes to Zen/IDNET.
I was looking at Vodafone but oddly their website doesn't list any full fibre plans for the property when they did last week. Maybe the pop hit capacity.

Just a bit out the scene to be honest. Any input is welcome.

What sort of deals around for BT atm please I'm end of my current BT contract and paying 42.99 for line and 50 !!
 
Associate
Joined
30 Oct 2009
Posts
441
Location
Camberley
BT/Sky/Zen are all perfectly fine. Vodafone are rumoured to have congestion issues and I have read Sky have too but I haven't seen anything conclusive for the latter. I'm with Zen personally as I require a static IP address for work and the connection has been flawless.

Interesting I wonder if that's why they pulled the full fibre packages over the weekend.. was a bit weird either way
 
Soldato
Joined
5 Oct 2009
Posts
11,921
Location
Spalding, Lincs
I'm interested too, we're moving into a ~2018 house soon with FTTP. I've seen a lot of negative reviews on the Vodafone offering but Sky's FTTP hasn't really been out long enough to know exactly how good it is or not yet.
 
Soldato
Joined
29 Sep 2004
Posts
2,902
Location
Wilt of the Shire
What sort of deals around for BT atm please I'm end of my current BT contract and paying 42.99 for line and 50 !!
I signed up for the 500 package at £39 for 24 months with BT, getting it installed on the 28th :) I'm a new customer so it might be a deal for me, currently paying £31 with PN for 74. No line rental included though but not bothered as we never use it.
 
Soldato
Joined
20 Aug 2006
Posts
9,346
I signed up for the 500 package at £39 for 24 months with BT, getting it installed on the 28th :) I'm a new customer so it might be a deal for me, currently paying £31 with PN for 74. No line rental included though but not bothered as we never use it.

Thankyou I'll call them tomorrow see what they can do :)

I'm in 2 minds about line rental my phone isn't even plugged in ! Is there a disadvantage of not having one at all ? Any utilities, banks or something I'm notnthinking about that might require a landline when doing an application etc ? I have unlimited calls on my.mobile

Thanks
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,307
Location
UK
Thankyou I'll call them tomorrow see what they can do :)

I'm in 2 minds about line rental my phone isn't even plugged in ! Is there a disadvantage of not having one at all ? Any utilities, banks or something I'm notnthinking about that might require a landline when doing an application etc ? I have unlimited calls on my.mobile

Thanks

Somehow I doubt it. Everyone and their dog and granny is on a mobile. The phone would be VoIP anyway.
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jul 2010
Posts
22,278
I'm interested too, we're moving into a ~2018 house soon with FTTP. I've seen a lot of negative reviews on the Vodafone offering but Sky's FTTP hasn't really been out long enough to know exactly how good it is or not yet.
Discount codes are available!
 
Associate
Joined
14 Nov 2002
Posts
669
Location
West Midlands
I'm interested too, we're moving into a ~2018 house soon with FTTP. I've seen a lot of negative reviews on the Vodafone offering but Sky's FTTP hasn't really been out long enough to know exactly how good it is or not yet.

On the strength of a solid/no issues year of fttp Sky Ultrafast I've upgraded to Sky Ultrafast Plus - £35 for 18 months.
 
Associate
Joined
8 Sep 2020
Posts
95
Thankyou I'll call them tomorrow see what they can do :)

I'm in 2 minds about line rental my phone isn't even plugged in ! Is there a disadvantage of not having one at all ? Any utilities, banks or something I'm notnthinking about that might require a landline when doing an application etc ? I have unlimited calls on my.mobile

Thanks

I used virtual landline when my mum was in hospital. https://www.virtuallandline.co.uk/

30 day contract and they’ll even hold your number for (I think) 12 months when you cancel.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,307
Location
UK
Nice :) I was with Sky FTTC for many years without issue, but 500mb FTTP is a different story with expectations.

What issues were you thinking of? With full fiber the line cannot pick up interference from external sources like copper/aluminium. Unlike the route my cable was that gave many issues.
 
Top Bottom