1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, 8 Feb 2011.

  1. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,631

    Location: UK

    Imagine having 2GB up and down. Imagine any download/upload you try no matter where and what it took at most 5 seconds.
     
  2. Ayahuasca

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 24,474

    Location: Huem

    YouFibre are doing my area soon and they offer a 10Gb service if you call up. The business service is £250 a month though, I’m wondering how much it is for residential.
     
  3. adam cool dude

    Capodecina

    Joined: 22 Oct 2002

    Posts: 21,636

    Location: Boston, Lincolnshire

    Even with 1GB it is fantastic. Got sick and tired of 2042, so downloaded BF1 in 20 minutes. Normally I would have to leave it on all day!
     
  4. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: 19 May 2012

    Posts: 13,316

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    Can't wait until they get Spalding covered
     
  5. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 27,403

    I crave more upload, 100 Mbps just doesn’t cut it at times.
     
  6. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,555

    Working from home can be challenging at times on 17Mbps upload, really hoping this FTTP rollout gets here soon.
     
  7. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 29,560

    Location: Westchestershire

    That's something I don't understand with these new FTTP installs. Why are they artificially restricting upload speed when there is no technical reason to do so? They had to for A/VDSL because of the wiring but fibre is different. Is it to get people to pay for business-class lines with symmetrical speeds?
     
  8. ChrisD.

    Caporegime

    Joined: 20 Sep 2006

    Posts: 27,403

    I feel your pain. I’m constantly downloading and uploading 20+GB ISO files for customers. FTTP has made it much better and I hated it in the old house when it would take hours.
     
  9. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 14 Nov 2004

    Posts: 13,625

    It's due to the limits of the current GPON technology.

    There is a faster 1000/220 package but it's £££ right now.

    XGSPON should be able to offer at least 1000/1000 in the future.
     
  10. Heisenberg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Aug 2012

    Posts: 2,445

    Location: Scotland

    Have openreach in my area currently putting fibre along telephone poles. Anyone know how long after that’s installed before it’s available to order? I presume it probably varies massively from place to place
     
  11. ic1male

    Caporegime

    Joined: 28 Oct 2003

    Posts: 29,560

    Location: Westchestershire

    So XGPON just works over the same fibre cable?
     
  12. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 3,015

    Same fibre, yes. But the GPON splitters that the fibre from your house connects to, the ONT in your house and a bunch of other stuff needs to be swapped out.

    I believe Openreach will be going to XGS-PON rather than XG-PON. XG = 10 Gigabit. S = Symmetrical. So XGS-PON could deliver a symmetric 10Gbps connection.
     
  13. Stovehead

    Associate

    Joined: 8 Sep 2020

    Posts: 93

    I’ve started a switch to EE for FTTP - £55 a month for 500/70 including an Apple TV and BT Sport for 2 years. 20 Gigs of extra data for our mobiles but we’re not in a desperate need for it. I’m having second thoughts though.

    I don’t need Gigabit speeds as I don’t spend enough time online or WFH but I do have a digital PS5. PS5 is wired in but most other devices are on Wi-Fi. My MacBook maxes out about 75megabytes/sec currently.

    I’m currently paying Giganet £49 for 1000/110. Giganet promise no price rises. I’m out of contract.

    Giganet do;
    £35 for 200/30.
    £45 for 500/70.
    £49 for 1000/110.

    EE: £55 for 500/70.

    I got a small amount of cash back (though only tracking at £40 atm - should be £100 eventually).

    The CPI +3.9% price increase is making me think again! After 2 years of that the value in moving will be diminished. That Apple TV and BT Sport for the UFC/The Ashes is tempting though. BT Sport is £20 a month as an EE customer but not sure if I want to be tied in for 2 years.
     
  14. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,631

    Location: UK

    It can vary from 2 - 4 weeks. For me it took 6 weeks as I had no ducting. 8 weeks in total by the time the service was live in the house.
     
  15. MissChief

    Capodecina

    Joined: 17 Jul 2010

    Posts: 21,590

    Has anyone here used one of my Sky Referral codes for the 500 service? Wondering how much it comes out at after the discount.
     
  16. sharpygsxr

    Mobster

    Joined: 11 Mar 2008

    Posts: 3,168

    Location: Norn Iron

    After a few rescheduled appointments due to have my Openreach fibre install on Thursday. Hub to arrive the day before i think from what ive read its packaged to fit in a standard letterbox, any1 able to confirm this?. Ended up opting for the 500mb from BT.
     
  17. V F

    Capodecina

    Joined: 13 Aug 2003

    Posts: 19,631

    Location: UK

    That's some letterbox. Mine certainly couldn't fit through the letterbox.
     
  18. Heisenberg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 11 Aug 2012

    Posts: 2,445

    Location: Scotland

    Thanks. They’ve not finished putting it to every pole. Hopefully they hurry up, my current connection is terrible.
     
  19. Too Tall

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Jun 2006

    Posts: 3,010

    Location: UK

    After 3 years of living with 3mb broadband and a temporary 4g router we're finally having 900mb FTTP installed today. No I dont need 900mb, but I deserve it after that. :cry:
     
  20. the-evaluator

    Mobster

    Joined: 24 Sep 2015

    Posts: 3,015

    What on earth has 'need' got to do with it? :D

    Enjoy!