BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,306
Location
UK
It's great, isn't it. I wonder how long it'll take you before you take it for granted and want to go even faster. I'm about that point now, six weeks on, where I want double the speed again. :D

Imagine having 2GB up and down. Imagine any download/upload you try no matter where and what it took at most 5 seconds.
 
Caporegime
Joined
23 Apr 2014
Posts
25,325
Location
Huem
YouFibre are doing my area soon and they offer a 10Gb service if you call up. The business service is £250 a month though, I’m wondering how much it is for residential.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,780
Working from home can be challenging at times on 17Mbps upload, really hoping this FTTP rollout gets here soon.
 
Caporegime
Joined
28 Oct 2003
Posts
29,994
Location
W'stchestershire
I crave more upload, 100 Mbps just doesn’t cut it at times.

That's something I don't understand with these new FTTP installs. Why are they artificially restricting upload speed when there is no technical reason to do so? They had to for A/VDSL because of the wiring but fibre is different. Is it to get people to pay for business-class lines with symmetrical speeds?
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
27,989
Working from home can be challenging at times on 17Mbps upload, really hoping this FTTP rollout gets here soon.
I feel your pain. I’m constantly downloading and uploading 20+GB ISO files for customers. FTTP has made it much better and I hated it in the old house when it would take hours.
 

KIA

KIA

Man of Honour
Joined
14 Nov 2004
Posts
13,653
That's something I don't understand with these new FTTP installs. Why are they artificially restricting upload speed when there is no technical reason to do so? They had to for A/VDSL because of the wiring but fibre is different. Is it to get people to pay for business-class lines with symmetrical speeds?

It's due to the limits of the current GPON technology.

There is a faster 1000/220 package but it's £££ right now.

XGSPON should be able to offer at least 1000/1000 in the future.
 
Associate
Joined
11 Aug 2012
Posts
2,454
Location
Scotland
Have openreach in my area currently putting fibre along telephone poles. Anyone know how long after that’s installed before it’s available to order? I presume it probably varies massively from place to place
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Sep 2015
Posts
3,144
Same fibre, yes. But the GPON splitters that the fibre from your house connects to, the ONT in your house and a bunch of other stuff needs to be swapped out.

I believe Openreach will be going to XGS-PON rather than XG-PON. XG = 10 Gigabit. S = Symmetrical. So XGS-PON could deliver a symmetric 10Gbps connection.
 
Associate
Joined
8 Sep 2020
Posts
95
I’ve started a switch to EE for FTTP - £55 a month for 500/70 including an Apple TV and BT Sport for 2 years. 20 Gigs of extra data for our mobiles but we’re not in a desperate need for it. I’m having second thoughts though.

I don’t need Gigabit speeds as I don’t spend enough time online or WFH but I do have a digital PS5. PS5 is wired in but most other devices are on Wi-Fi. My MacBook maxes out about 75megabytes/sec currently.

I’m currently paying Giganet £49 for 1000/110. Giganet promise no price rises. I’m out of contract.

Giganet do;
£35 for 200/30.
£45 for 500/70.
£49 for 1000/110.

EE: £55 for 500/70.

I got a small amount of cash back (though only tracking at £40 atm - should be £100 eventually).

The CPI +3.9% price increase is making me think again! After 2 years of that the value in moving will be diminished. That Apple TV and BT Sport for the UFC/The Ashes is tempting though. BT Sport is £20 a month as an EE customer but not sure if I want to be tied in for 2 years.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,306
Location
UK
Have openreach in my area currently putting fibre along telephone poles. Anyone know how long after that’s installed before it’s available to order? I presume it probably varies massively from place to place

It can vary from 2 - 4 weeks. For me it took 6 weeks as I had no ducting. 8 weeks in total by the time the service was live in the house.
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jul 2010
Posts
22,256
I’ve started a switch to EE for FTTP - £55 a month for 500/70 including an Apple TV and BT Sport for 2 years. 20 Gigs of extra data for our mobiles but we’re not in a desperate need for it. I’m having second thoughts though.

I don’t need Gigabit speeds as I don’t spend enough time online or WFH but I do have a digital PS5. PS5 is wired in but most other devices are on Wi-Fi. My MacBook maxes out about 75megabytes/sec currently.

I’m currently paying Giganet £49 for 1000/110. Giganet promise no price rises. I’m out of contract.

Giganet do;
£35 for 200/30.
£45 for 500/70.
£49 for 1000/110.

EE: £55 for 500/70.

I got a small amount of cash back (though only tracking at £40 atm - should be £100 eventually).

The CPI +3.9% price increase is making me think again! After 2 years of that the value in moving will be diminished. That Apple TV and BT Sport for the UFC/The Ashes is tempting though. BT Sport is £20 a month as an EE customer but not sure if I want to be tied in for 2 years.
Has anyone here used one of my Sky Referral codes for the 500 service? Wondering how much it comes out at after the discount.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Mar 2008
Posts
3,174
Location
Norn Iron
After a few rescheduled appointments due to have my Openreach fibre install on Thursday. Hub to arrive the day before i think from what ive read its packaged to fit in a standard letterbox, any1 able to confirm this?. Ended up opting for the 500mb from BT.
 

V F

V F

Soldato
Joined
13 Aug 2003
Posts
20,306
Location
UK
After a few rescheduled appointments due to have my Openreach fibre install on Thursday. Hub to arrive the day before i think from what ive read its packaged to fit in a standard letterbox, any1 able to confirm this?. Ended up opting for the 500mb from BT.

That's some letterbox. Mine certainly couldn't fit through the letterbox.
 
Soldato
Joined
21 Jun 2006
Posts
3,119
Location
UK
After 3 years of living with 3mb broadband and a temporary 4g router we're finally having 900mb FTTP installed today. No I dont need 900mb, but I deserve it after that. :cry:
 
Top Bottom