BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Associate
Joined
13 Jun 2016
Posts
1,293
Location
UK
Zzoomm are currently digging up the roads in my area and laying down fibre cable. I am assuming that once the cabling is all down, that the cable is theirs, so you are tied into them as opposed to any old provider if you wait for BT Openreach to lay down cabling?

If Zzoomm are now in the area, would I likely be right in the assumption that Openreach are more likely to go for the low hanging fruit and prioritise other areas with no FTTP as opposed to areas where Virgin / Cityfibre / Zzoomm already are?
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,783
Openreach are too large to be reacting to small players enabling little pockets of houses. They are building to ~300k houses each month and deployments will have been planned years in advance.

You will get FTTP from Openreach because pretty much everywhere is going to be enabled, but the amount of time this takes won't be affected by another provider being there.

People who post here aren't your average user. Zzoomm packages start at £29 for 150Mbps symmetric, for a lot of people the option of paying Vodafone £20 a month for 40Mbps FTTC is preferable to them, so the presence of what we might all see as a superior service doesn't necessarily mean that Openreach wouldn't still be able to make money from a certain area. Maybe people want to stay with Sky because they supply their TV, maybe they think BT are the best provider, maybe they want a landline which Zzoomm don't seem to offer.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
13 Jun 2016
Posts
1,293
Location
UK
Thank you @Caged - I am very happy with our FTTC via Zen Internet, as it is we have a few months left on the contract - but the promise of FASTER is tempting! By the sounds of it we may well end up in a luxurious position of choice, as Trooli were also touting for customers in the area recently.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,783
It's a 12-month contract so I wouldn't be sitting around waiting to see if something else comes along. Order Zzoomm when it's available, if another network builds then you have options after the 12 months is up.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Mar 2004
Posts
2,950
Location
Norfolk
Just a quick question for everyone, I'm finally getting FTTP installed on the 9th and just trying to get some equipment ready for the switch over.

I've bought a Asus RT-AX82U router only version to be used with the open reach modem when it's installed. Is the connection from the modem to the router normal RJ45 Ethernet? I've always had combo routers which take a RJ11 cable.

Cheers :)
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Sep 2015
Posts
3,144
It isn't a modem as such, it's an ONT (Optical Network Termination). But yes it has an RJ45 output so a standard ethernet patch cable between it and your router is all you need.
 
Caporegime
Joined
28 Oct 2003
Posts
30,016
Location
W'stchestershire
Does the ONT have some kind of server software in it that you can log in to to see sync speeds, connection uptime, etc. None of that data is available on the Sky hub now.
 
Soldato
Joined
24 Sep 2015
Posts
3,144
Connection uptime is likely going to match the uptime of the PPPoE session so your router may be able to provide that. I've never looked, it's not something I'm bothered about.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
15,485
Location
North Wales
People with the FTTP 900 product - what's the max throughput speed you generally see?

Just got mine installed, seems to be topping out at 870 but spiking to 900.
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Sep 2006
Posts
28,005
I've never seen over 910 Mbps or so on Zen 900 but I never trust the accuracy of Speedtests. Torrents, Usenet, Steam etc see around 104 MB/s.

I'm fairly certain the max speed is 910 Mbps, as in, that's what the ONT will sync at.
 
Last edited:
Caporegime
Joined
28 Oct 2003
Posts
30,016
Location
W'stchestershire
I've never seen over 910 Mbps or so on Zen 900 but I never trust the accuracy of Speedtests. Torrents, Usenet, Steam etc see around 104 MB/s.

I'm fairly certain the max speed is 910 Mbps, as in, that's what the ONT will sync at.

Cripes - Usenet. There's a name I've not heard in a very long time! Is that system still running?!
 
Soldato
Joined
5 Oct 2009
Posts
11,924
Location
Spalding, Lincs
Yup and the only place to get certain Linux distributions which aren't on private trackers.

Indeed. I much prefer it to the alternatives. It's fast and reliable. It can max out my 500Mb connection with ease. It's pretty insane watching a multi-GB Linux iso download in the time it does.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
3,410
Location
UK
Cripes - Usenet. There's a name I've not heard in a very long time! Is that system still running?!

Heck yes. A bit of automation on a NAS and every Linux distro you want automagically appears locally seconds after it’s available it’s so fast.
 
Associate
Joined
27 Dec 2004
Posts
1,526
Location
Staffordshire
Heck yes. A bit of automation on a NAS and every Linux distro you want automagically appears locally seconds after it’s available it’s so fast.
All automatically renamed and organised in a logical file structure with a notification sent to your phone to advise that its ready to test too.
 
Top Bottom