1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. We recommend you enable 2FA on your OcUK forum account. Please see the thread here
    Dismiss Notice

BT Infinity & FTTx Discussion

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by michellez, 8 Feb 2011.

  1. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,595

    Just because a product experiences a wholesale price change or a different data plan is offered as of a set date, unfortunately doesn’t mean that it will be rolled out by resellers anywhere near that date, historically the pace of change from openreach resellers is relatively slow. Also when it is, I’ve yet to find a provider who wouldn’t let me move up a tier in speed terms as long as I agreed a new contract.
     
  2. peterattheboro

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Sep 2005

    Posts: 20,056

    Location: Middlesbrough

    So today was the day and no one turned up. Rang them for them to say that the appointment was provisional and not confirmed. Would have been nice someone had told me they weren't coming.

    Went to work and came back go find a fibre coiled up on my driveway that's been pulled in from the chamber. Now they've told me they can't get an engineer out until next Monday :mad:

    My TalkTalk service was terminated today also.

    I'm not a happy bunny :(
     
  3. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,493

    The map on the Fibre First website seems to have gone backwards.

    Solihull area was announced back in mid-2019 and it showed as "in progress" on the map with one or two neighbouring areas already showing complete.

    Now the Solihull areas have vanished and the complete ones are showing "in progress" again.

    Eh?
     
  4. Roost

    Associate

    Joined: 7 Jun 2012

    Posts: 22

    Was broke for me yesterday as well, was only showing purple areas, no yellow or green. Working ok today an my area is showing as in progress :D
     
  5. Vertigo1

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Dec 2003

    Posts: 15,493

    Solihull's now gone to yellow, i.e. starting in the next three months, so either it's still broken or they've backtracked.
     
  6. Valo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,621

    Location: Livingston

  7. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,404

    You just need to set the Asus WAN to DHCP and plug it into the G.fast modem.
     
  8. Valo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,621

    Location: Livingston

    Don't have an actual DHCP option under WAN Connection type. I'm currently on PPPoE with my plusnet connection, I'm guessing it'll be Automatic IP if the IP is being assigned by the G.fast modem (DHCP)?

    WAN Options I have are Automatic IP, Static IP, PPPoE, PPTP, L2TP
     
  9. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,404

    Automatic then
     
  10. Valo

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 3,621

    Location: Livingston

    Cheers! Guessing it doesn't matter about the other settings as I can't see anywhere to enter them. Think it was the same with my plusnet connection, some settings couldn't be entered.
     
  11. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,404

    VLAN tags etc. are handled by the Openreach modem
     
  12. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: 29 Dec 2002

    Posts: 6,595

    Just a small point, although fibre and gfast (currently) offer similar speeds, they are very different products, and as it has already tripped someone else up this week in another thread, technically you don’t have ‘fibre’, you have g.fast, as such it’s different and so are it’s settings. Either way it’s easy to set-up with the supplier modem.
     
    Last edited: 14 Jan 2020
  13. GregI

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 10 Dec 2007

    Posts: 1,417

    Got a letter with "Your best deal enclosed" and it just said "Renew by (some date in January) to pay the same price you currently do"...

    Is this just common tactics or will I not be able to get a better deal after January, or even a worse deal? My contract ends in March. I have Superfast Fibre 2 and I'm paying £25.99 for it due to getting this deal when the price hikes came in. Should I hold out till late February and ask for like £23.99? What deals do other members have on here for this package? Can any other company actually beat £25.99 without using cashback deals and such?

    Edit: Apparently TalkTalk has a very similar package for £21.95, £60 voucher and a free backup router. Found on uswitch
     
    Last edited: 15 Jan 2020
  14. Joxeon

    Soldato

    Joined: 15 Oct 2019

    Posts: 7,058

    Location: Uk

    Ok i've just re-newed my broadband package with BT as being on openreach FTTP i was left with slim pickings, i was originally on 50MB for £30 but managed to haggle the 150MB for £35 so all in all im pretty pleased with the outcome.

    i've got them to send me the new smart hub 2 router although im unsure if i need this as the smart hub 1 seems to be fine, anyone know the differences as i can just keep the new one as spare or bay it etc.
     
  15. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,404

    The rules change on the 15th Feb where providers have to tell you if you're out of contract, and have to make the best offer that they make to new customers to you. So you might be seeing some people doing that before the deadline.

    https://www.ofcom.org.uk/consultations-and-statements/category-2/helping-consumers-get-better-deals
     
  16. Ozymandias

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 670

    Location: West Midlands

    I thought Ofcom said that providers had to state "the best deals offered by their provider, including telling loyal customers what prices are available to new customers."

    I didn't read that as that the provider had to offer you the price available to new customers, rather I thought Ofcom wanted to highlight providers that give new customers a better deal than to existing loyal customers.
     
  17. Caged

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 24,404

    Yeah I read that part wrong. Though I would imagine the number of providers willing to send out "this is what we charge new customers" information while listing the best price they can offer an existing customer to re-contract being a bigger number is going to be fairly small - if it can close the pretty obscene gap between the initial 18 month costs and the out-of-contract rate then it's a good thing IMO.
     
  18. Ozymandias

    Hitman

    Joined: 14 Nov 2002

    Posts: 670

    Location: West Midlands

    Also I'm wondering if the "prices available to new customers" will need to include any cashback the providers offer themselves - like the BT card and Plusnet offer (that's not Quidco / TopCashBack)
     
  19. peterattheboro

    Capodecina

    Joined: 24 Sep 2005

    Posts: 20,056

    Location: Middlesbrough

    Finally got my BT service installed this week. A week with no service as they never confirmed the appointment, they've came back to me and offered me a month free service so can't complain.

    Massive upgrade from 15mb ADSL :D

    [​IMG]
     
  20. faceman123

    Mobster

    Joined: 9 Jun 2011

    Posts: 3,156

    Any news on faster speeds for BT FTTP