1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Build Help in advance

Discussion in 'OcUK Full Systems & Bundles' started by Jase, Mar 25, 2020.

  1. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    I have full system bits arriving from OcUK tomorrow but I haven't built a PC for years.

    I'm pretty sure I'll be OK with the build itself ie putting the MB in etc but not sure after that.

    It's a 3950X build on a Asus MB, thiss but with the WiFi board:
    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/8-pa...ro-corsair-64gb-3600mhz-bundle-bu-01v-am.html

    any tips to get started..

    I have a USB stick with Windows 10 on, do I have to go into the BIOS first and if so what do I choose?

    Is there any settings in the BIOS I should be looking out for or is it pretty much plug and play (or prey in my case).

    Any help in advance appreciated so I don't pull my hair out when I get around to the build.

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,062

    Location: Aberdeen

    Watch a few build videos for basic tips. Build it outside of the case to start. BIOS update first! Have you got a good cooler? The stock CPU cooler might get a bit loud. Have fun with that beast!
     
  3. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    I'll put the CPU, RAM and and SSD's in first and then put in the case I think. I've got a Corsair H1100i RGB cooler, I was going to go air but I just don't like the look of them lol

    Talking of RAM which slots do you put them in, 2 sticks? I guess it will say in the manual, last one I did was first slot, miss and slot.

    I hope to have fun with it but not confident the build will go well, I wanted a pre-made but that could take forever at the moment.
     
  4. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,062

    Location: Aberdeen

    Good moves all. You're right to be careful with the RAM, but with 64 GB you're going to be using all four slots if it's 4x 16 GB. I've not built a Ryzen PC - yet - so I cannot offer Ryzen-specific BIOS advice.

    Here's a series of videos on building PCs:

    https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLRnHcRQUxuoeQM4-llcMNXTakKZcAAyB6

    You might find this video useful:

     
  5. Mcnumpty2323

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 2,139

    Should not need to mess around in bios
    Just to get it running
    First thing I always do as soon as its built
    Sit in bios and watch cpu temperature
    Until it stops rising to be sure no heatsink issues
    Then if OK install windows
     
  6. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 7,290

    Location: Finland

    Indeed haven't heard about 32GB consumer/desktop DIMMs, so it's likely 4x16GB kit.
    Enabling XMP should work, though four ranks per channel starts to be demanding.

    If you're going to use it for gaming with high end graphics card, you'll want to make sure case airflow is good.
    Board's chipset cooler is just awfully positioned directly under graphics card for bathing in its heat and doesn't need any extra help in heating it up.
     
  7. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    I've got a Corsair 500D, 3 fans in the front (in), 1 at that back (out) and I was planning on putting the H100i rad with 2 fans on the top (no idea which way those fans go but assume out?)

    Does that sound sufficient?
     
  8. Joxeon

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 913

    Location: Uk

    Guessing it's this stuff.

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £338.69 (includes shipping: £8.70) ​
    [​IMG]
     
  9. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 7,290

    Location: Finland

    Radiator on top would directly exhaust CPU's heat, so that's better for chipset over front frad.
    Also it makes sure that when coolant over time decreases air can't rise to block/pump.


    That could be Samsung A-die which goes to 16Gbit (2GB) capacity per chip allowing single rank 16GB.
    https://wccftech.com/samsung-a-die-memory-sighted-ddr4-is-about-to-get-a-lot-cheaper/
    Though latencies certainly aren't great, if that's supposed to be special binned chips.
     
  10. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    The stuff has arrived and already confused reading the manual for the H100i RGB.

    It says for best results they recommend mounting fans as an air-intake (with radiator on top of the case).

    On that basis I would have 3 fan intakes on the front and 2 with the Rad on the top and 1 fan as an exhaust (out) on the back of the case, will that be ok?

    The memory is the 3600 stuff:

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/cors...zen-tuned-ddr4-memory-dual-kit-my-4ck-cs.html
     
  11. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,062

    Location: Aberdeen

    You probably don't want a fan on the back at all. You want to maintain air pressure so there's a good throughput. Having an output fan at the back will lower the pressure of the air going in to the fans at the top. A fan blowing in will pull warm air blown out by the PSU, the GPU (if it has a blower fan), or both.
     
  12. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    so basically leave with fans blowing air in at the front and back and just leave like that?

    Every picture I’ve seen has a fan at the back on this case with similar setup?
     
  13. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,062

    Location: Aberdeen

    You are mounting a fluid cooler on the top. you want good air pressure underneath it.
     
  14. Mcnumpty2323

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 2,139

    Mount the rear fan just don't connect it
    Then if needed it's already in place
     
  15. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    OK thanks. One last question then in the psu does that go with fan at the bottom or top. It’s a Corsair rm850x.

    Thanks
     
  16. Mcnumpty2323

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 2,139

    You have a psu intake at bottom?
    If so then use it to intake cooler air through the psu would be my choice
     
  17. Jase

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 4,627

    Location: Pembrokeshire

    There's a vent at bottom of the case with a filter so guess that's what you mean, was my intention to put fan at the bottom but that a picture in the case manual showed it with fan up.
     
  18. Mcnumpty2323

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 2,139

    You could do it either way
    But I prefer bottom to draw cooler air through it
    And because you can filter dust from going into it