Buying a house to renovate

Associate
I’m seriously considering buying a property to renovate and sell. I have no experience in this at all and don’t know where to start.

So far I’ve been researching online about mortgages and auctions and I’m going along to an auction next week just to get a feel for the process and hopefully meet a couple of people who do this.

I’m a qualified joiner so not new to the building aspect but completely out of my depth with everything else.

Does anyone have any experience or do this for a living any advice would be appreciated

Thanks

Soldato
I’m seriously considering buying a property to renovate and sell. I have no experience in this at all and don’t know where to start.

So far I’ve been researching online about mortgages and auctions and I’m going along to an auction next week just to get a feel for the process and hopefully meet a couple of people who do this.

I’m a qualified joiner so not new to the building aspect but completely out of my depth with everything else.

Does anyone have any experience or do this for a living any advice would be appreciated

Thanks
Careful selection of property, setting a strict limit on purchase price and remembering you are doing it for profit when re-fitting are the keys to success. Do lots of research to make sure you buy a house that has enough headroom in the price for you to make a good return for the hours put in.

Soldato

Always, without fail, every single time, read, then re-read the legal pack for any auction properties. It is so easy to get caught out with something, and if you don't understand something 100% find out someone who can answer that question. Good luck, it is a long process the first time around. :)

Soldato
Preview the property first - they’ll have an open day. Ideally do so with the help of someone who knows what to look for e.g. a surveyor or similar.