Cambridge SoundWorks MegaWorks THX 2.1 250D upgrade advice!

Soldato
Hello,

I am after some much needed advice as I am a bit of a newb when it comes to sound. I've been using my Cambridge soundworks 250D's for about 15 years which my friend recommended and I've been impressed with them since. However, they are starting to fail, I think a dry solder joint. I will open them up once I've got something new and use them on another PC.

Anyway, I want a new setup (2.1 unless convinced otherwise). I mainly use my PC to listen to music, play games, and watch movies so a bit of everything really. I've been reading on here this morning and the EDIFIER S350DB so far look good to me but are they better than what I have? my aging system looks more powerful (300w) but I don't know how that compares.

I don't really have a budget as I wont be buying new speakers again for hopefully another 15 years. I would like to spend around £250 but happy to go up to £500 for something decent.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
fobose

Soldato
Hard to say how the Edifier S350DB would compare to the Cambridge Soundworks 250D's. The Edifier's have larger satellite speakers, so should provide more midrange sound compared to the rather small satellites of the Cambridge speakers.

The specs of 300W is rather meaningless. Power does not equal quality. The problem with such specs given by manufacturers when it comes to speaker system output power, is they do not tell you how that was achieved. It's pretty meaningless really. It looks good and attracts buyers if the power output looks like it is high.

For sitting at a desk and listening to speakers, you'd be surprised how little power you actually need for pretty loud volume. I've got a small Topping amp connected to a pair of stereo speakers. The little amp only puts out about, maybe 11W into each speaker. That looks pitiful compared to 300W, but it's louder than you'd imagine.