Can you usually disconnect the tubes on an AIO watercooler?

Associate
Joined
6 May 2011
Posts
1,345
Location
Nr Watford
I have an old PC case that has a couple of cut outs for tubes to go through so you can mount the rad block for a watercooler outside the case for better airflow. However, to get through the cut outs I'd need to disconnect the tubes and feed them through. Obviously not an issue for a custom loop, but to AIO watercoolers have disconnectable tubes?
 
Soldato
Joined
21 Dec 2019
Posts
4,316
Location
Planet Thanet
Most of them are not designed to do that
There are exceptions
Most of Swiftech AIO mostly can do it
Probably one or two others though don't know which
For most of them you can probably get the tubes off
Even though not meant to
But refilling it would be a major pita
 
Associate
Joined
3 Feb 2009
Posts
708
Those cases are definitely built with custom loops in mind. You can definitely 'disconnect' AIO tubes with enough will, but as above, your mileage may vary. I would just stick with what you have until you want to/feel the urge to take the full loop plunge.

I doubt you'd notice that much difference mounting the rad externally unless your case is absolutely choked for fresh air. If that's the case, just use the AIO as intake?
 
Associate
Joined
6 May 2011
Posts
1,345
Location
Nr Watford
Thanks chaps, will probably stick to air for the moment then, and take a custom loop plunge at some point later
 
Soldato
Joined
21 Dec 2019
Posts
4,316
Location
Planet Thanet
Something like a swiftech if you can find one on eBay
Is a good way to start watercooling
Cheaply too as usually can grab one second hand cheaply
As they are less well known
Most of their AIO are designed to be expandable
And use quality pumps,not aluminium radiator, removable fittings/tubing
Still got a couple in my pc room lol
Last 360mm I got off eBay for 40 quid
Then shoved a GPU block on it as well
Much cheaper than buying pump,Res,CPU block, fittings, tubing etc separately
And good practice for introducing you to custom watercooling
 
Soldato
Joined
26 Sep 2010
Posts
6,755
Location
Stoke-on-Trent
You could look at the Alphacool Eisbaer kits. Essentially a DIY AIO, so you have the pump and CPU block combined but you run your own tubes to the radiator.
 
Top