Career change and pay cut

Associate
Hello, I'd like some advice from our resident developers and anyone who has opted for a significant pay cut in order to change industry and do something more fun.

I'm early thirties, 8 years out of University, and I work in the services sector in London. I'm an account director, which means I manage a team of ten at various levels from graduate through to account manager. My day to day involves a lot of calls and meetings, a lot of strategy, a lot of troubleshooting and putting out fires. Due to my level, I am very client facing but work on the technical side of things rather than the salesy side.

I am sick to death of talking for a living, sick of presenting the same data in new formats over and over, and I miss the hands-on technical work I used to do before I was promoted. It was only Excel and platform work but it had a real sense of accomplishment I haven't felt for a while.

I have also suffered from severe anxiety since my early twenties, which I have never been able to shift, despite CBT and various medications. It's a reoccurring theme at work where I stress and lose sleep in the days running up to an important presentation, and regularly face panic attacks on the day. I inevitably deliver an enthusiastic and well-structured presentation and am praised for the part I play, but then the cycle starts again.

My salary is £60K and I have a nice rented flat in London with a girlfriend of 4 years. She has just graduated from University and with the current climate likely won't be starting work before next year. I'm responsible with my money and have saved enough to be able to pay the bills for a year if I lost my current job.