Career in 1st Line support!

Associate
Hello,

I'm hoping if someone can help me with this obstacle I've encountered.
Anyway, I'm very eager to get into a career with IT as I'm passionate about it and I enjoy it. The career I want to take is 1st line support, I have all experience at the moment but I've been told by an IT Recruitment agency that I'm being held back by not having COMPtia and COMPtia network and Windows 7 certificates. To get into this career pretty much every job requires these and it's the things I don't have.
Anyway they are trying to sell me an online course which is like £395. Is it a bit of a scam? Is there anyway to get these? Any guidance will help me :)

Stevan

Soldato
No its not a scam.

But also you don't need them.

I don't and I'm a Senior IT Tech. Then again i have a degree :/

I would suggest taking the time to do the following:
CCNA, CCNP, Comptia and what ever else many jobs ask for.

Yes its going to cost you, maybe get a Loan to pay for them or ask your parents for some money to get some training.
Also some training with AD might help.

Associate
£395..... ask them what exam you'd be doing for those. Look up the price of doing just the exams. Then look at the cost of the course content (CBT Nuggets for example).

But I would think experience would be more beneficial. Look at maybe a temp position while the money won't be great but it'll give you a taste, then may turn into a full time position. Or even look at apprentice/junior positions.

Soldato
CCNA, CCNP

He wants to do 1st line support and you're recommending he goes for CCNA/CCNP - are you serious? CCNA/CCNP is going to earn him a £45k a year minimum network engineer/network manager role, not a £15-20k 1st line helpdesk job.

CompTIA A+ and Comptia Network+ can be had cheaply and would give you a good introduction to a lot of the aspects of 1st helpdesk.