CMK16GX4M4A2666C16

Associate
Joined
26 Jan 2021
Posts
13
Hi there I currently have this install in my pc which has x99 deluxe board


CMK16GX4M4A2666C16
VENGEANCE® LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4 DRAM 2666MHz C16 Memory Kit - Black

As there four extra slots can I buy the same put them in makeing up to 32gb ,or change altogether, and reply much appreciated thanks



 
Soldato
Joined
23 Mar 2011
Posts
13,895
Location
West Side
Yes you can, getting the same would be ideal but somowhere near it will default to the lowest settings between the diffrent types.

Mite be expensive.

Do you need quad channel memory what are you using your pc for ?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Jan 2021
Posts
13
Mainly use pc for games and design software, , been getting lot of issues with say slow responding, it either hard drive or memory, stuck M2 stick ,but not happy with it, at moment trying to clone my hd back onto other one ,but have no luck
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Jan 2021
Posts
13
Hi, getting confused now, I email Corsair yesterday, even that there 8 slots on my board, cannot put them in say it only run in four , how that possible. Here what they said Unfortunately, for you motherboard that RAM can only run with 4 sticks in the slots.

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/...ries_DRAM_QVL_for_i7-69xx_68xx_processors.pdf
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA2011/X99-A/X99_Series_DRAM_QVL0603.pdf

These are the lists of all supported RAM for your motherboard and how the can be configured. You can see on this list that they are rated to run with 4 in the system. Let me know if this helps or if you
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Apr 2004
Posts
13,424
Are you getting mixed up between memory channels and memory slots?

X99 supports the use of Quad-Channel memory. You can use as many slots as you like in theory but should in an ideal world use all 8.

I would suggest you find yourself a 4x8GB or even a 4x16GB kit.

E.g.

CMK32GX4M4C3000C15
CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
CMK64GX4M4D3000C16
CMK64GX4M4B3600C18
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Jan 2021
Posts
13
Hi, I could mix up anything, no seriously, I have 8 slots on the board, so it possible to add other four of these
CMK16GX4M4A2666C16 which is already in at the moment
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Apr 2004
Posts
13,424
You could, but given there are 32GB kits for less you'd be silly to do so to be honest.

You could then sell your kit making it even cheaper...

Also given they were manufactured at different times you may end up with compatibility issues.

So I still recommend finding a 4x8GB or even a 4x16GB kit instead.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Jan 2021
Posts
13
Appreciated the advice, out of what you suggested, which is best and brand to purchase, as am waiting for the new 3080 come into stock do everything at the same time. But I can make a note of what you say ready thanks
 
Soldato
Joined
29 Dec 2002
Posts
6,962
Ditch the 4GB stuff and buy 16GB sticks. I’m running 6x16GB on an x99 at present, it was running 8x16GB but I needed some RAM for another box and prices are still high. I tend to prefer ECC as it’s relatively cheap used and supported on x99, it’s hard to argue with 2x16GB ECC being circa £40-50.
 

Stu

Stu

Soldato
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Posts
2,721
Location
Wirral
Hi, getting confused now, I email Corsair yesterday, even that there 8 slots on my board, cannot put them in say it only run in four , how that possible. Here what they said Unfortunately, for you motherboard that RAM can only run with 4 sticks in the slots.

https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/...ries_DRAM_QVL_for_i7-69xx_68xx_processors.pdf
https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/LGA2011/X99-A/X99_Series_DRAM_QVL0603.pdf

These are the lists of all supported RAM for your motherboard and how the can be configured. You can see on this list that they are rated to run with 4 in the system. Let me know if this helps or if you


This looks to me that the QVL list only shows packs containing 8 sticks are marked as compatible to run in 8 slots. They are looking at your SKU, identifying it as being 4 sticks, and you obviously can't fill 8 slots if you only have 4 sticks... They are not considering if you have 2 kits.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
26 Jan 2021
Posts
13
Hopefully will either go for four again possible 4 X 16, think for me should be plenty , look at few but after new card ,which looking at the moment, could be few months as there all on backorder
 
Top Bottom