Coax cable causes confusion

Associate
Joined
19 Jan 2021
Posts
2
;)This is hard to explain as I’m a layman in an IT world... but here goes.

I have a coax cable running between a garden out-house and main house. It’s currently not terminated either end. I want to run internet from main house to garden house 30m away using this cable.

but, how can I get signal from the Vodafone router in main house, (LAN Ethernet/outputs) into the BNC coax?

and once that’s achieved I have a similar problem at other end, but in reverse. How can I get internet from coax into my access point (Ethernet/rj45 type hole)

any suggestions much appreciated! I’ve seen little adapters online for a couple of quid - would these help?

thanks guys.
 
Don
Joined
15 Jan 2006
Posts
31,579
Location
Tosche Station
I understand that you believe you want to do this, but you really don't. Running another cable or using a wireless link has got to be less hassle than the absolute faff of running ethernet over coax like it's 1990.

I highly suspect the converters you're seeing are actually for running analogue signals (such as those in old cctv systems), over twisted pair, not for the opposite.
 

Jez

Jez

Caporegime
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
33,073
Erm guys, these do exist and are very common indeed. They are very popular for retrofitting buildings wired in coax for analogue cctv to facilitate new IP cameras.

Depending on budget some even run at 1gbps....
 
Associate
OP
Joined
19 Jan 2021
Posts
2
FFS. So now I really have to ask: why for the love of God did someone instal a coax cable? This was only 4 years ago. Is there any conceivable reason? Its even been buried under the lawn.

Can I physically achieve a functioning internet using this cable?
 
Caporegime
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
25,286
Location
Lake District
FFS. So now I really have to ask: why for the love of God did someone instal a coax cable? This was only 4 years ago. Is there any conceivable reason? Its even been buried under the lawn.

Can I physically achieve a functioning internet using this cable?
For CCTV.
 

Jez

Jez

Caporegime
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
33,073
Pulling a new cable will cost way less than converters.
Doubt it if it’s buried under his lawn!

Cheap 100mbps items are about £30 on Amazon, although I do agree perhaps best to just use a wireless connection at that point.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Apr 2013
Posts
10,753
Location
La France
Lol BNC.

Use it to pull a new cat5 cable through, pretty much all its good for.

Can’t argue with that. Sending digital signals with high clock rates over 30 metres of coax was a PITA back in the day when there wasn’t an alternative. Thank goodness for routers and Cat5e!
 

Jez

Jez

Caporegime
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
33,073
Can I physically achieve a functioning internet using this cable?

yes...search Amazon or anywhere else for “ip extender coax” and you’ll see loads of options.

It is totally the wrong cable though, these are designed to make use of old coax cable buried into buildings where retrofit would be a lot of trouble really.
 
Don
Joined
15 Jan 2006
Posts
31,579
Location
Tosche Station
Erm guys, these do exist and are very common indeed. They are very popular for retrofitting buildings wired in coax for analogue cctv to facilitate new IP cameras.

Depending on budget some even run at 1gbps....

I understand the history of coax with thin/thicknet, but doing it today is just asking for trouble if you can avoid it. I'm sure the "1gbps" will infact be significantly less, not least due to the fact that it'll be half duplex :p

I suppose it's no worse than powerlines in that case, but it just seems like a terrible thing to invest in IMO if it can be avoided for less money.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
24,938
There is conversion hardware designed for hotels that would have had TV distribution installed but no data, and will do full duplex without any issues, but they are expensive. The US has the MoCA standard which is fairly common as each house will be wired for cable TV, but you'd have to import them.
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Jul 2007
Posts
4,964
Location
Lincolnshire
You need a MOCA adapter both ends, to convert the coax to ethernet. They aren't cheap though... If you could I'd lay Cat6 where possible?

Something like this (2x) https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/154180495727 (I've not used this particular model, but it's similar to what I've used as explained below)

I helped my bro in law do similar in a new build earlier last year. We got 2 MOCA adapters (v2.1 with 2.5Gb duplex) to convert the Virgin coax ports in the house, from the living room (VM entry point) to his man cave (2nd bedroom). He has BT Ultrafast 1Gb and it hit the full speeds no problem. My first choice was to run Cat6 but he refused to drill holes in his new house, so I had to find a way and suggested this after some research lol.

However the connection was a bit flaky and dropped a few times a day, but I think that's down to some janky couplers used on the entry point to loop to his VM port in bedroom. It needs re-doing properly and I think it'd be fine then. But I was very surprised they actually worked and hit the full 1Gb on the 2.5Gb models he used, as I'd never adventured into Ethernet over Coax before.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom