1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Complete noob! Looking to learn :)

Discussion in 'Crypto Currency & Mining' started by Ross Beech, Aug 7, 2018.

  1. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 23, 2014

    Posts: 14,240

    Location: Hertfordshire

    There is no point doing just a CPU build, the hash rate from a CPU is not worthwhile unless its a Ryzen/Threadripper. That board you linked can take 13 GPU's, you can get a cheaper board that will take 6-8 GPU's. You could get all the bits but just get a couple of GPU's and add more later as you pick up cheaper bargains.

    Or you could spend 2 grand and get the lot.....return on investment(ROI) at the moment, given the current returns, would not actually be achieved. Mining is BAD at the moment. :)
     
  2. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    Im getting between 5 and 6kh/s per rig CN-Fast. I have in total 16kh/s.
     
  3. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    Top tip - search ebay for HP Pro 3120 - The machine sports a board that will take 4 GPU's straight away with the option to add another 3 via a riser. The machine can be had for <£100 and will give you CPU, Memory, motherboard and HDD and also a windows license. So an ideal base for a 7 card rig. I run the board on my MK1 and it is incredibly stable. @Armageus also runs this board and @Frozennova runs a OEM hp board as a base also.

    Once you have your base components you are looking at gpu's and a strong PSU to get you off of the ground. If you populated it with say 4x rx550's with mods you could be looking at just shy of 2kh/s CNv7 and around 3/3.5 kh/s CN-Fast.

    Below are two images, the first is the board you will find in HP Pro 31XX, the second is a finished miner based around that board sporting 7 cards. You will notice that it is all running from a 500w supply, however constant power draw is 340w so over time it actually melted the wires on the supply as wire gauge was to low to support that kind of constant draw.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    This is why you do not go cheap on a power supply:

    [​IMG]

    The cheaper you can get the base components the more you can spend on the stuff that matters :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2018
  4. Mercenary Keyboard Warrior

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 4, 2007

    Posts: 10,151

    Location: Wilds of suffolk

    Just to add my few cents here :)

    I kind of agree and disagree on the PSU thing. The really key point is that certain wires are designed for certain things, and when your mining your probably not using them for what they were designed for. Unless you go slightly specialised.

    I am running a great PSU, but I am using the 4 pin molex to power graphics cards and its not designed for that. Its running slightly warm and I do want to move away from it, but cant/wont until I do a second rig if ever. I bought this PSU to specifically do this rig recently, but hadn't figured the cable would run warm, its pretty static tempwise but I don't feel fully comfortable with it.

    The key points with the PSU IMHO are : efficiency, perticularly in bigger rigs. The extra cost of a high effeiciency PSU will pay for itself, the bonus being the build quality.
    Watch the ability to give current on the 12v rail most importantly, most good PSU will have the ability to give almost all their power to this rail.
    I would personally buy hardwired or semi modular. Modular plugs are yet another risk, they have to be pushed in and anything that allows some movement means more risk it can be slightly loose etc.

    Last point really. Whilst building a PC hardwarewise is pretty simple, most people who have mining rigs seem to have issues come and go. They can be a bit of a pain even for experienced PC people. They are running quite on the edge if dialed in for efficiency/performance so some care is needed.

    I started with an old i5 board, old memory, and old MHHD, 1 new graphics card, an old PSU etc. You can start off really cheaply, ensure you are capable of doing it and then quickly scale up and replace.
    I only replaced the i5 as I killed it, trying to multi PSU it. I also killed a 570, although why is still beyond me. I still cant decide if I should take the risk of sending it back, with the associated costs, as they may detect mining and void warranty.

    Things like card fans can fail, again are you up to doing some mods to fix this. You really do need to be able to "field fix" some of this stuff in order to make a profit.
     
  5. -UnderClocker-

    Gangster

    Joined: May 14, 2018

    Posts: 122

    With regards to the PSU, make sure you have some headroom in terms of power consumption. If your system will use 1000W, buy a 1250W PSU, for example. I think the PSU should be the last thing you buy. Or at least, you should know how much power everything you plan to buy will use, before buying the PSU. As they are likely to be costly, the GPU's should be the second from last parts to buy. Everything else, you can buy whenever. That's what I have done with the rig I intend to build.
     
  6. Telecaster

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,946

    It's a lot to take on for a complete novice, I'm not saying you shouldn't, but it can be very frustrating even for more experienced people when things start playing up or just stop working for no apparent reason. That alone would put me off, the whole cost side of things really doesn't make sense at the minute, returns are poor and electricity is expensive even on the best deals.
     
  7. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    It does seem a bit daunting but I'm willing to learn I have come up with a plan it won't make me any money but I'm hopeing I can learn the basics and then start getting equipment. I have a raspberry pi3 and I have seen you can mine on there but at the minute I have no clue how set it up for mining or using/connecting a pool. I have a wallet at my monero which was my first step :) so I'm planning on Learning the basics through the pi then start on a Build once I have my pi set up. I hope that doesn't as silly as I think it does
     
  8. Telecaster

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 17, 2012

    Posts: 4,946

    I'm not really sure what knowledge will transfer across from learning to mine on a Pi over to a proper rig, but by all means have a go.
     
  9. theleg

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 17, 2002

    Posts: 13,416

    Location: UK

    Very interested in this thread, looking to play around with a small rig to learn mining. Will pick up one of those HP Pro 3120s to start.
     
  10. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    Thank you this I will look in to that computer so you recommend buying the pc and removing the board or just using in the tower and adding stuff? Many thanks :)
     
  11. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    You would need to remove the board with cpu, memory, cooler, wiring for the on button and stock fan (the board stalls and requires a button press without it) and if your a bit of a sadist the hdd as well. Pretty much everything else goes in the bin. All you need to add to be up and running is a psu, some risers and gpu's. Build it all into some sort of frame or rack as in the second image and your away.
     
  12. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    Brilliant thank you :) I will start looking for a computer. I presume getting a second hand one is OK? Thanks vince
     
  13. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    If you want to do this for like £500 it's the only way!
     
  14. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    I have been looking a
    That's true mate :) I have found one for £40 which is a sff version or there is one for £80 which is a mtt version. Will the £40 one work?
     
  15. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    All the ones I have used have been SFF. The one you can see for £40 is the same one I used. find one with 4gb of ram if you can. 2gb will work but slows windows down enough to be annoying.
     
  16. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    Happy days I'll get that then :) is it possible to use the cpu to mine monero whilst I wait to purchase my gpus?
     
  17. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    Absolutely not. The cpu doesn't support aes so will be so slow you wouldn't bother. The machine just makes a very cheap and good base to build a cheap gpu rig on. There were an absolute ton of these machines sold to businesses so loads of them floating around on the second hand market. The key part is that they have 1x pci-e 16x and 3x pci-e 1x on a respectable board which has great build quality. The fact that you get most of the other components in the machine to get up and running just makes it a much cheaper entry into mining.
     
  18. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    OK thanks mate I'll purchase it and let you no how I get on :)
     
  19. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 8,492

    Location: Essex

    If you want to mine monero on the cheap the absolute best bang for buck card if you can find them would be a baffin core amd rx 550 as most of these can be modded to be more like a 560. Given that there really aren't many of them about then any rx550 will do. You should be able to pick these up new from £70 but they still seem to be quite inflated or there is no stock. To give you an idea on what I paid for my cards, 4x asus 4gb rx550 £75 each, 4x gigabyte 2gb £75 each, 2x sapphire Baffin core 550's £81 each, 2x xfx 2gb single slot £100 each. Basically you should be paying no more than £80 a card today.

    The point is, if you just want to mine and see, pick up just the one card at first. Get it all up and running to learn the ropes then add to it. You could be up and running with a single card for around £300. Actually less as you could probably just wack a single card straight into the 3120. (£40 + £100) for a gpu.
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
  20. Ross Beech

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 7, 2018

    Posts: 24

    Is it worth me upgrading the cpu so when I put my gpus in they run better? As I'm happy with the price I wouldn't mind spending the rest on a new cpu and then the graphics cards and then upgrade fan and and any thing else I need.