• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

computer no longer recognizes my card

Associate
Joined
4 Dec 2008
Posts
48
im a bit rubbish when it comes to hardware, but i have had the cataclysm hogger from this site for quite a while now and only had a problem since yesterday

basically when i open a game the computer says *please ensure you have a grafix card and when i try open nvidea control panel it says no hardware connected

so i took out my card give it a clean and put it in a different slot, but still no luck

is it broken?

geforece gts450 -128bit - 1gb ddr5 (is the card)
ultra durable 3 - h55m-ud2h (is the motherboard)

any help would be greatly appreciated and thank you in advance, i dont think im still under warranty
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
14 Oct 2003
Posts
13,091
Location
South Derbyshire
un-install and reinstall the drivers?

I might sound funny but you have got the DVI cable pluged into the nvidia card and not the onboard gfx, also check the bios to see if the onboard gfx is turned off.
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
also my dvi cable wont work if plugged into the gfx card

When you say it won't work, do you mean you can't see anything (even POST and the BIOS) or it just doesn't show anything when in windows?

If you moved your graphics card down to a secondary slot then the motherboard may think you don't have a primary card and instead rely on the onboard graphics. I would suggest you turn off the PC, turn off the PSU then swap the graphics card back into the primary (top-most) PCIE slot and ensure the power connection from the PSU to the graphics card is firmly plugged in. Then try the DVI connection on the GTS 450 again and see if you see anything on-screen when you boot up.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Dec 2008
Posts
48
just moved the card back into main slot, and the dvi is not working in the card, can not see bios and monitor says no pc input, then move dvi to motherboard its working, my computer is currently running onboard graphics
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
In that case I would go into the BIOS as switch the onboard graphics off and set the PCIE graphics to be the primary.

To do this you need to:

-enter the BIOS as before
-chose the option "Advanced BIOS Features" (using the arrow keys to move between options and the <enter key> to select items)
-In the new page look for the option "Init Display First" and make sure it is set to "PEG"
-Then look for the option "Onboard VGA" and make sure it is set to "Enable If No Ext PEG"
- Press <F10> to save the new settings
- Press <Esc> to exit the BIOS

Also, are you certain the 6pin power connection running into the graphics card from the PSU is connected and secure?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
4 Dec 2008
Posts
48
yes the connection is secure, and all those bios options are the same as you have stated, does this mean its dead? also thank you for your help so far
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
Yea, in that case it does sound like it's dead.

It may be worth testing it with another PC (so long as it's PSU can take it) just to confirm.

As for warranty, may I ask what the make of the card is and when exactly you purchased it? Usually graphics cards come with at least two years of warranty and often three years - so depending on the warranty term and when you bought it you may well still be covered.

Out of interest, may I ask what make and model PSU you are using?
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Apr 2009
Posts
11,973
Location
Cheshire
Happy to help, best of luck and I hope you get it sorted.

As for the PSU, the only way to check is to take off the case side and have a look what the sticker on the side of the PSU says. However, if OCUK made the system for you then they will have almost certainly put in a decent quality PSU which will handle the graphics card.
 
Top Bottom