1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Connecting to wireless hotspot

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by Deaniee, Oct 29, 2019.

  1. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Hi all..

    Some advice please .

    I'm able to connect to a remote free hotspot running 2.4ghz

    I am located 25 m away.

    I wish to make use of 2 devices on this network, a laptop and smart phone, wirelessly..

    Any ideas about what device is required to make this possible?

    Thanks
    Dean
     
  2. bremen1874

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2008

    Posts: 10,560

    Depends...

    Why aren't you allowed to have multiple devices connected in the first place? That's an imposed limitation and nothing to do with the technology.

    Then, what do you have to do to connect to the AP? Is there a web portal you have to enter credentials into for instance?
     
  3. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Thanks Bremen,

    It's just a WiFi network login. With no password.

    25m is too far to pick up the signal

    Can I install a bridge and then create a WiFi network to my 2 devices ??
     
  4. jsmoke

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jun 17, 2012

    Posts: 7,820

    It's unpractical unless you stand in the street or get a 10m long power adapter and stick a repeater also out in the street.
     
  5. ScoTTyBEEE

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 1, 2004

    Posts: 1,964

    Location: London

  6. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Thanks Scott ..

    What does the nano station plug into on the router? Is it a USB or antenna connection?

    Can any router be used?
    Does the router need to operate in a specific mode ?

    Many thanks
     
  7. ScoTTyBEEE

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 1, 2004

    Posts: 1,964

    Location: London

    Ethernet, plugs into wan port. It takes a bit of configuring, have a look on youtube.
    Nanostations often come up on eBay cheap.
     
  8. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Thanks Scott .. Amazing.. Cheers..

    Shall I search for..

    Connecting nano station to wan port on router?

    And.. Is it OK to go for an older nano, like M2?

    Cheers...

    (finally in a good direction)
     
  9. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Hi all..

    I see online there are many models of nano station. Ie 2, loco, 5, 9.

    And wonder what will be suitable for this application if 25m distance, direct line of sight?
     
  10. Steveocee

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2011

    Posts: 5,152

    Location: Derbyshire

    You can't "decide" which to use. Loco M2 uses 2.4Ghz, M5 uses 5Ghz and the 900 uses 900Mhz spectrum. You will likely need an M2.
     
  11. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,012

    Nanostations are used for links of several Km depending on the model, 25m is nothing.
     
  12. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Thank you .. Which is the entry level nan , that's the MOST cost effective, and cheapest for me ..

    Does the nano 5 only work for 5ghz?

    The signal in trying to connect to is a 2.4 ghz one
     
  13. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,012

    The 2 and 5 have significance across the range.
     
  14. Deaniee

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 29, 2019

    Posts: 7

    Cheers