1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Corsair K70 RGB problem

Discussion in 'Gaming Peripherals' started by snappyfish, Aug 29, 2018.

  1. snappyfish

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 14, 2008

    Posts: 956

    Location: UK

    My keyboard has started double typing certain letters mainly this one "aa"

    This a fault?
     
  2. Vapo Reaper

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 102

    It can be yes. I have the same keyboard and so far it has been ok.

    Take a look on YouTube there are videos showing potential fixes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kKufRP644EY

    Also, there's a few threads about it too on the Corsair forums.
     
  3. Vapo Reaper

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 102

    Have you had any luck fixing the problem?
     
  4. Paracelsus

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 15, 2007

    Posts: 733

    Location: Manchester

    I'm having the same issue - described as 'chatter' I found out.

    I downloaded a keyboard diagnostic program called Switch Hitter which lets you set a tolerance in milliseconds to detect it, then flags up affected keys in the GUI after you've used them. Few minutes of pressing all the keys on the board later, it shows about 7 keys affected (luckily not WASD!)

    Apparently it's an issue with the switch itself being loose or not making correct contact, a few suggestions from people on the Corsair/other forums;
    a) Hit the key hard a lot of times
    b) blow air into the switch socket
    c) use a small amount of superglue to fix the switch socket in place
    d) clean the inside of the switch with contact cleaner/alcohol

    I'm going to try a) (lol) and b), but if neither of those work I'll be RMAing it as the problem is a complete PITA when it comes to typing passwords where you can't even see it's double-typed or ghosted.
     
  5. snappyfish

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 14, 2008

    Posts: 956

    Location: UK

    Thanks, what is the warranty on them?
     
  6. snappyfish

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 14, 2008

    Posts: 956

    Location: UK

    Just tried keyboard hitter, shows all keys as green = no problem :(
     
  7. Paracelsus

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 15, 2007

    Posts: 733

    Location: Manchester

    It did that for me at first too - but that's with the default chatter threshold of 8ms (see settings tab) - I changed it to 40ms then it started showing them up.

    I believe the warranty is 2 years btw. Will be removing keys to see if I can see a visible wobble to the switches vs non-chatty keys, then trying the 'hit hard' and air blowing on Monday, will report back!
     
  8. Minstadave

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 22,954

    Location: Rutland

    Mine was the same, fixed by dropping some isopropyl in the dodgy keys, still working well months later.