1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Could someone recommend me a speaker with built in amp for pc

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by lostone98, Aug 12, 2018 at 8:57 PM.

  1. lostone98

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 5, 2018

    Posts: 12

    Noob here, Budget is about £300, dont have pc yet so i dont know what sound card i will end up with. needs to be simple to setup that does not take up much room. i was looking at KEF X300A but i heard bad things about it
     
  2. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    IMO if you get passive speakers you will have greater choice as choose own amp. Also choose stereo or a avr, and choose one with little or lots of inputs.

    You won't get active speakers like back of Denon a1xva backplate for example!
     
  3. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    Say if i increase my budget to £600 to £700 and go for Q Acoustics 2010i speakers and a Audioengine S8 SUB

    what amp with built in dac would you recommend? This will only be needed to play games, i prefer to go a little cheaper and dont want to go overkill with it.

    I dont have a lot of room btw.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018 at 1:39 AM
  4. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    Buy speakers and amp first then look into a sub. You have a choice of a stereo amplifier or avr amplfier. Decide if priority is sound quality, or multi channel, bass management, hdmi, hd decoding, room eq etc.

    That sub doesn't seem very impressive.
     
  5. IvanDobskey

    Soldato

    Joined: Feb 2, 2010

    Posts: 6,594

    Location: East Midlands

    I just ordered an Audiolab M-One currently on offer for £399. Looks to be a great amp. Going to be using q acoustics 2020i's with it.

    Don't think it has a sub output though, if that matters to you.
     
  6. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    You can use other methods to add a sub, life out, stereo pre-out or speaker level
     
  7. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 10,119

    Agreed. £270 for an 8" sub? Can't help but feel that Audioengine overcharge for their products. A product best suited to people who like to buy these lifestyle things that have the same manufacturer and look.

    BK Gemini II for £215 is a far better buy than the Audioengine S8.
     
  8. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    Would the Q Acoustics 2010i be ok with that sub? Or would it be better to go for a higher model?
     
  9. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    Those q speakers will be fine with bk sub. But you need a amplfier for the speakers. The sub has its own amp so you won't need a sub amp.

    It depends on what you want that bk gemini will be fine in a smaller room and/or for music but if you want earth shattering bass in a large room, high SPL output, very low sub bass frequencies and low distortion fora action movies you need to spend more.
     
  10. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    Seeing the sub has an amp, where does it plug into? Does it plug in the amp for the speakers or does it plug into the pc directly??
     
  11. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    All depends on your system..if you have a regular home cinema amplfier it'll plug into the lfe output on the back of the amplfier. If you use a stereo integrated amplifier you either use speaker level, or if your amp has it stereo preouts. If you have a preamp the you use stereo preouts or the lfe pre-out. If you have a computer use the subwoofer pre-out.


    And depends on what connections sub has. All have low level but some lack high level so in that circumstance you would have no way to connect it to a stereo integrated amplifier if that had no stereo preouts.

    Then need to use bass management, set that up on your computer following instructions on your sub. If you are sending filtered audio to the sub bypass the subs own crossover. If sending full range use the subs crossover
     
  12. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    Thank you for the help but i sadly dont understand what you said as my knowledge is very basic. Could i use this amp: https://www.amazon.co.uk/AD18-Stere...r&reviewerType=all_reviews#reviews-filter-bar. It also needs to run my Pandora iv hope head phones which have 32 ohm.

    Here is the sub, shows the connections https://www.amazon.co.uk/BK-Subwoof...8&qid=1534194799&sr=8-1&keywords=BK+Gemini+II
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018 at 10:15 PM
  13. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    Not sure of that shared sub output that's weird sub plus digital on same port.

    But it has speaker level so make sure a sub has speaker level inputs
     
  14. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    What is a speaker level inputs
     
  15. hornetstinger

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2016

    Posts: 5,037

    From amplfier to passive speakers.


    Find out about that unusual connector though unsure about it.
     
  16. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 10,119

    That shared (coax/optical/subwoofer) socket does look a little weird. Optical/subwoofer I can understand. Similar in a way to the shared 3.5mm outputs on sound cards that can also take 3.5mm mini toslink optical. Metal contacts within the socket for analogue output and a fibre optic laser and the end for mini toslink. Coax though uses metal contacts and is digital. Subwoofer connection will be analogue. Can't see how that works.

    Edit: Q5 pro (which I have) is a lot more simple with a dedicated subwoofer RCA output. No headphone output though.

    Speaker level inputs is when you take cables from the speaker terminals on the amp to not only the speakers, but also to the subwoofer. The Gemini II has speaker level input, which is the back circular connection labelled 'hi level input'. Not noticed until now, but they have misprinted high as hi. :p

    It comes with a cable that plugs into that which allows wires to connect to the speaker terminals on the amp.
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2018 at 11:25 PM
  17. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    Whats your audio setup if you dont mind me asking. Regards
     
  18. lost0ne33

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 27, 2013

    Posts: 8

    Whats your opinion on Klipsch R-15PM Active Bookshelf Speakers (if you know of it) regards
     
  19. Marsman

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 10,119

    I have the SMSL Q5 pro connected to some floor standing speakers downstairs. They don't get used much though; they were speakers going spare, so decided to add a little amp for occasional use.

    I have some Roth bookshelf speakers on my desk connected to a small Topping amp, which is in turn connected to a DAC/headphone amp. These get the most use for music, even though the set up doesn't sound quite as good as the 9.1's mentioned below. More time spent at desk etc, and for more critical listening, I use headphones.

    Also have some Wharfedale 9.1's on stands either side of my TV, connected to a Cambridge Audio 350a amp. Originally got those for music, but they mostly get used for TV and film now.

    I don't have a subwoofer though. I don't really miss the bass a subwoofer provides to be honest and wouldn't get any thanks from other people if I did have one. :p
     
  20. lostone98

    Associate

    Joined: Aug 5, 2018

    Posts: 12

    Ok I hope im not sounding like a broken record but I come up with a new setup, here it is:
    Q Acoustics 3020i Bookshelf Speakers £249
    Q ACOUSTICS 3070s Active Subwoofer £199
    Marantz PM5005 Integrated Amplifier £169.77
    Total: £617.77

    Is this a good setup?