Cover letter check

Associate

I'm applying for a training contract at a Chartered accountant practice. Could some kind soul please critique my cover letter. This is my first attempt ever at writing a cover letter. So, it probably needs a lot of improvement.

Permabanned
tl;dr

"I am writing to apply" to "I wish to apply"

it's a given that you are writing :)

...and do you have a space after the full stops? it looks a bit crammed

Last edited:
Associate
OP
tl;dr

"I am writing to apply" to "I wish to apply"

it's a given that you are writing :)

Ok, I'll change that , thanks.

...and do you have a space after the full stops? it looks a bit crammed
Yeah it does looked crammed. There are spaces after every full stop. I'm worried the employer will think there's too much to read. They still have to read my CV, which is less than two pages.

How long did it take you to read the letter?

Man of Honour
A few comments but basically it looks like a good letter and there is a definite enthusiasm there from my reading of it.

"Mentorship"? Might be better to put mentoring programme?

Do you really want to emphasise how many doors it will open for you? Or at least in that particular way as it could read as if you are itching to go elsewhere before you've even started.

"...shadowed a Chartered Accountant..." - capitalise both or none.

"I look forward to hearing from you".

Really it's all pretty minor changes and feel free to ignore it but that's how I'd change what is there. ACA is pretty decent from what I've heard so good luck with that.

Caporegime
Whilst the content is good, it is very long for a cover letter. Have you considered condensing it but keeping the general feel the same? Your third paragraph is bordering on CV content and, thinking about it, could help you with my previous point. Why not move either part or all of it it from the letter to the CV?

Best of luck :)

Associate
OP