1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

CPU idle temp up to 60 C

Discussion in 'CPUs' started by SwordsSwords, 7 Aug 2021.

  1. SwordsSwords

    Associate

    Joined: 12 Feb 2021

    Posts: 6

    Hi all,

    I have a Ryzen 5600x , just bought this one ... The thing is sometimes is going up to 60 C on idle doing absoluty nothing , voltage goes up to 1.45v... thermal paste is enough (no to much or to less) Any advice about that ? ...

    PC
    CPU R5 5600x
    Cooler BeQuiet Dark Rock 4 with 2 fans
    Motherboard MSI MAG B550M
    RAM 16GB 3200mhz
    GPU MSI Gaming X Trio 3070 TI
    PSU Corsair RM850
    Case Corsair 4000D with 3 intake 3 exhaust fans
     
  2. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,855

    What's the cpu temp when you are in the bios?
     
  3. VaderDSL

    Capodecina

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 15,766

    Location: Manchester

    Do you have things like corsair software, or other peripheral software running, sometimes they cause cpu to run higher on idle.
     
  4. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,057

    Location: Rutland

    What are your load temps? The voltage going to 1.45V when idle is normal behaviour for Ryzen.

    Are your fans fixed speed?
     
  5. throwaway4372

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2021

    Posts: 217

    Location: UK

    If it's volted right, and really doing nothing, then it must be the cooler not cooling. Either not fitted properly, or just broken somehow.
     
  6. The Artfull Bodger

    Gangster

    Joined: 6 Mar 2017

    Posts: 484

    Location: Sunny Bournemouth

    What software are you using to monitor- try nothing but Ryzen master and disable icue, or motherboard software as mentioned above.
     
  7. SwordsSwords

    Associate

    Joined: 12 Feb 2021

    Posts: 6

    Bios show the highest of 55 C. Im using HWMonitor , HWInfo ,Ryzen master to check my temp. I`ve closed msi center and icue. Same thing happen .. Funny thing is .. CPU temp rise to 50-60 while i`m on steam and clicking on store , library , community tabs temps increase .. or when i`m open any program is jumping to high temps... idk if thats normal. On Cinebench R23 doesn`t pass 57 C on multi/single core test.
     
  8. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,855

    If it's hot in the bios then it's not software related, the issue is the cooler mounting and/or heat paste
     
  9. MeatLoaf

    Capodecina

    Joined: 1 Dec 2005

    Posts: 14,099

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    Ive had 3 ryzens - 1600, 2700x and 3600 - and theyve all idled quite high. Thats with different boards, air coolers or aio liquid coolers. Reading up on it AMD say its normal and its the monitoring software making the cpu think its got work to do so it runs hotter.
     
  10. SwordsSwords

    Associate

    Joined: 12 Feb 2021

    Posts: 6

    I will replace the thermal paste with a new one and will try another cooler and see what happens.
     
  11. Alan McFall

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2021

    Posts: 576

    Location: Earth

    Mine does the same, just randomly spikes to mid 50s. I just thought it was some background processes doing a short boosted workload.
     
  12. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,855


    Spikes are normal but he said he's getting those temps in the bios which is before it boosts and loads windows so load spikes are impossible in the bios
     
  13. Alan McFall

    Hitman

    Joined: 11 Jun 2021

    Posts: 576

    Location: Earth

    In BIOS mine sits around 45-50c, 36 idle in win.
     
  14. SwordsSwords

    Associate

    Joined: 12 Feb 2021

    Posts: 6

    Ok .. i`ve installed a new Cooler (Dark Rock Pro 4) / thermal paste (Grizzly Krynoaut) and is idle at 32 C .. Looks fine .. still pop to 50 C while opening a program for example (hwmonitor) but i think that`s normal. Maybe it was the cooler or maybe the paste i don`t know .. but happy now is running cool .. Thanks for all the advices guys
     
  15. throwaway4372

    Gangster

    Joined: 24 Jun 2021

    Posts: 217

    Location: UK

    much better :)