1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Creative Fatal1ty Headset Drivers non existant?

Discussion in 'Sound City' started by Chivalry, Jul 2, 2009.

  1. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    Well I recieved my order [Creative Fatal1ty Headset] from OC's today and i've spent the last few hours trying to find drivers for it or even just to get it recognised by my computer. There's no disk with the packaging. Long story short, in every audio jack i could find nothing was recognised when i plugged it in.


    I've trawled Creative's website and can find neither hide nor tail of any form of driver for this headset. Anyone got any solutions to get it to work please? And Yes, i've tried it on my TV so i know the headset actually works.

    Thanks in advance, Chivalry.
     
  2. millsy888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 16, 2006

    Posts: 2,175

    Location: Cardiff

  3. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    It gave me a link to my soundcard drivers..which i updated because they were there.
     
  4. millsy888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 16, 2006

    Posts: 2,175

    Location: Cardiff

    just to be clear, are the headphones you got USB or 3.5mm jack type?

    If the 3.5mm jack you shouldn't need drivers.
     
  5. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    3.5 mm jack. Sorry.
     
  6. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    Well I can't get it recognised by the PC at all. Or i'm just being incredibly dense and missing something.

    Edit: I've tried the front audio jacks and yes the headers are connected on the MOBO. I've tried the jacks on the back aswell and to be honest, i can't see any headphone jacks on my sound card.( http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=SC-045-CL&groupid=701&catid=11&subcat= ) since my speaker system occupies the green, grayish and orange jacks.
     
    Last edited: Jul 2, 2009
  7. millsy888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 16, 2006

    Posts: 2,175

    Location: Cardiff

    If anything like my onboard soundcard, as soon as i plug in the jack it cuts the speakers off and sound then comes through the headphones.

    Silly question but have you checked that there is sound coming from the headphones at all? And is there a volume control on the headphones that could be on 0?
     
  8. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    Yep, I tried them on my TV as i said in the first post. The volume is in the right position. I'm simply not getting any notification or recognition from my PC that its connected when i plug it in.
     
  9. *Chris

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 1, 2007

    Posts: 1,510

    Location: London

    they plug into the green one mate, unplug your speakers!
     
  10. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    I'll give it a try then.
     
  11. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    Okay thanks, that sorted it. Now to get the microphone working.
     
  12. millsy888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 16, 2006

    Posts: 2,175

    Location: Cardiff

    orange hole for mic i think
     
  13. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    Give that a shot then.
     
  14. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    orange one didn't do it i think.
     
  15. millsy888

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 16, 2006

    Posts: 2,175

    Location: Cardiff

    erm could be the pink one then, sorry lol
     
  16. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    ugh, right....Nothing. I think i'm just a bit lost. I've used headsets before and generally it has been just plug and play.
     
  17. Chivalry

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 15, 2009

    Posts: 34

    Okay i think i got it working