Current Accounts

Associate
I've had my current account with Clydesdale bank for 17 years now. Initially opened it for my student loan to go into and I've kept it ever since and I've not really thought about it. I've been thinking of switching recently and just seen an advert for Halifax where you can get £125 for switching to them and their reward account you get £5 each month. You only have to pay in £750 each month, pay out 2 different direct debits and stay in credit.

My current account doesn't give me any benefits, the only good thing about it really is I have a Mastercard debit card with contactless payment option.

Anyone have any experience with Halifax or are there any other better alternatives out there?

Soldato
probably a really dumb question but with firstdirect do you qualify if you are an HSBC customer?

nothing jumped out in the fine print but i know all the credit card perks are linked amongst the group but wasnt sure if the banking was as well

Soldato
I switched from HSBC to RBS just this week. Coincidentally, the switching service text me today to day it was finished.

Had enough of HSBC, their customer service is a shambles.

Went with their £16pm platinum account, the travel insurance (me, wife and kid) will be very handy, as well the mobile insurance.

A2Z

A2Z

Soldato
I've had my Natwest account for years and years but never switched as I still have my original £1600 overdraft I had when I went to uni. Don't go into it anymore but still a nice feeling to have it there.

Caporegime
If you qualify the santandare 123 account is brilliant.

For direct debits just use a credit card set to pay off minimum/full or whatever you dont need to use it as it still counts as an active debit

Soldato
Amended quote from another thread

Santander do 3% up to £20k
Nationwide do 5% up to £2.5k
Lloyds do 4% up to £5k
TSB do 5% up to £2k
Tesco do 3% up to £3k
Bank of Scotland 3% up to 5K
Halifax £5 / month